Tuesday April 29th-Day 68


Advertisement
Oceania
April 29th 2008
Published: April 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Today I returned to AWX hoping my luck would be better then yesterday. I got there around 6:10 and sat around. Around 8 O'Clock I debated leaving because I assumed there would be no work. Good thing I didn't. About 10 or 15 minutes later a guy came downstairs and had a job. I was 4th in line but the three infront of me did not have hard hats. Me and this crazy washed up Kiwi guys got the jobs. We were working in Southbank just a few metres from the popular man made beach. Our job was to clean out office blocks in a building being constructed. We dragged our feet as much as we could. We did not take a lunch break and only took one "smoko." it ended up taking us about 7 hours to clean the rooms. After that another guy asked us to move ceiling tiles up a floor. Each box was fifty pounds and after about 6 my forearms were burning pretty badly. After that we had to move all garbage bins on wheels down to the ground floor so that they could be picked up the next day at garbage collection. We ended up getting an 8 hour day. I believe after tax I made about 95 bucks. Not great at all but much better then not making money at all. Right now I will take all the money I can get.

At night I made food and watched tv like usual. The crappy Big Brother Australia was on again. It is getting brutal reviews and no viewers other then idiots at this hostel so hopefully it will be taken out of primetime sooner then later. After that Bondi Rescue was on which is always good and then the British Edition of "Ramseys Kitchen Nightmares." After Ramseys I went downstairs to go to sleep. I went to the front desk and asked if they had any jobs for the morning. It turned out they did. I phoned the number and got no reply. Once I got to my room I ended up talking to a girl from Chile for a while because I could not fall asleep. Costja a.k.a schnitzel was in our room even though he was kicked out of the hostel so I talked to him for a bit aswell.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0663s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb