See you again some day Australasia


Advertisement
Oceania
September 13th 2005
Published: November 23rd 2005
Edit Blog Post

Australasia has been such a nice break away from South America and before heading to Asia. It felt a bit like going home (maybe the amount of Brits there and the expense contributed to that feeling). I really felt relaxed there and saw some of the most stunning scenery.

Everyone was just so friendly and welcoming - the kiwis more so but they are superhuman anyway!
The people are very proud and loyal, unlike most of the Brits I meet who don't have many good words to say about the UK (I spend all my time defending it).
I think the Aussies should take a leaf from the Kiwis book and treat the Aboriginal people with the respect they deserve.
It was also so very nice to catch up with the family and friends I have there - such a shame it's so far away from the UK.

The most amusing observation I had was with the weather. My god it DOES rain in Australia after all and NZ winter was definitely on the cold side. It was funny to see the locals moaning about the weather wherever I went - ahhh, just like back home.

The pies in this part of the world are delicious and they have the best invention of chocolate biscuits with Tim Tams! As for the wine.... words cannot describe.

New Zealand was just so beautiful that Australia didn't impress me so much, even though it was stunning in it's own right. Maybe I should have swapped the order I saw them in.
I saw some of the most magical sights - Uluru, Rottnest Island, the coastlines and lakes in New Zealand. None of it had the same wild and rough feel that South America had but I suppose some countries have to be health and safety conscious!

I will definitely be visiting this part of the world again to explore more when I'm older - it deserves longer than a couple of months.




Advertisement



Tot: 1.575s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 74; dbt: 0.1021s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb