A Rant


Advertisement
Oceania
May 2nd 2007
Published: May 2nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Why put myself through all this I ask myself??

Well I could say the sense of adventure, the need for a life changing experience, an aspiration for seeing and enjoying new cultures, the want of challenging myself, nice weather, drinking weird drinks and eating wacko food, new people, new friends.

All of the above I suppose.

Then again, you could say I just can be arsed sitting behind a computer anymore (ironic since i am at the moment) and doing a job that that I have found more and more less fulfilling.

And of course it could also be because this is all I have wanted to do since return from South East Asia 3 years ago. Travel more!

But most of all, with traveling and all its toils and annoyances, it is a fulfilling experience, that changes ones perspective on life and hopefully influences and inspires for the better.

From a selfish perspective it is great craic, you do have a lot of laughs, and you do realise that theres more to life than 9 to 5. Fair enough, bills do have to be paid etc etc but my take on it is every so often you have to say bugger the bills, its time to remove yourself from your comfort zone and the everyday routine of work and no play and do and see something that is for you not someone else. And in return for this maybe learn something about life from experiences in life.

I think it is safe to argue that you certainly cant learn all from a book. If you make the focus of your life, career, mortgage and material goods, with a view maybe of doing this when you retire. Well firstly you might never retire!!! Secondly I would prefer to use these experiences and lessons sooner rather than later and when do it when I´m fit, don't have chronic arthritis, gammy knee and still with an open minded view of the world. I´m not knocking those that don´t travel; its not everyones cup of tea but think that the benefits from traveling certainly outweigh the benefits of not bothering!

Sooooo I have finally quit the job, well to be correct my contract ended, and chose not to look for another. I have taken a wack of my hard earned savings, bought a round the world flight and here I am ranting to myself on a travel blog.

Here goes! Hold on to your trunks! Luke part Oz, Kiwi, South America experience!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.13s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0594s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 6; ; mem: 1.1mb