Sex and the City - Episode 2


Advertisement
Oceania
January 14th 2007
Published: January 14th 2007
Edit Blog Post


Warning: Next Entry Should Probably Not Be Read By Easily Offended Friends and Relatives Back Home!!

I know I’ve remarked in my previous blog entries before that my new life in Prague was more and more starting to resemble some ludicrously far-fetched and decadent episode of ‘Sex and the City’ lately, but even by my standards the last couple of weeks have been literally unsurpassed in terms of turbulent events in my uncharacteristically busy love life - to the extent now that I actually have three men after me at once (a definite first for me that’s for sure, not to mention a total ego boost to boot)! To cut a very long story short, events suddenly spiralled into absolute overdrive during the dying days of 2006, when (as I frequently do) I arranged to meet up with this random guy from expats for a couple of drinks on the 30th - little suspecting as I did so that a new and infinitely better Mr Perfect was about to walk suddenly and unexpectedly into my life that very night! From the moment this guy walked into the bar I was taken with the friendly face, classic clothing and floppy hair, but the real clincher was when he opened his mouth to speak and the poshest of posh English accents emerged - my one real weakness and a very good start to the evening from my unashamedly feminine point of view! Anyway, for the rest of the evening conversation flowed, wine was drunk, dinner was eaten and full-blown flirting gradually commenced, culminating by the end of the night in him (much to my delight) taking my face in his hands, whispering sweet nothings in my ear and kissing me right there and then across the table… Quite honestly I almost died - the way he says “dahling” in that voice just has me weak at the knees every time… No wonder he has been nicknamed by Dutch girl and myself as the wonderful Mr Darcy - a slight variation on the typical ‘Sex and the City’ Mr Big style man, but believe me, 21st century equivalent of the iconic Elizabethan literary sex symbol ain’t bad either!

Anyway, after a couple of very promising dates with the gorgeous Mr Darcy, I decided it was probably time to put Mr Ugly straight on the fact that we really were never going to be more than friends now - something I’d have done in the interests of honesty and friendship etc etc anyway, but in this instance had my hand somewhat forced over when the guy only went and asked me to go away with him for a (presumably dirty) weekend in Česky Krumlov by email last week. I tried to be as tactful as possible in my negative email answer to him, but needless to say the written response I received back from the evidently heart-broken Mr U was not the most complimentary in nature, filled as it was with snide insinuations of sluttiness and prick-teasing on my part and unfounded accusations of stringing him along for months while I was actually seeing the genuinely brand-new-on-the-scene Mr Darcy behind his back for almost the whole time. Luckily for me I am at my most articulate when provoked, so fired off a return email brimming with dignified outrage (so shot him down on every unsubstantiated point he made!), which as yet has silenced the po-faced bastard completely on that score. Naturally I was fuming at his nasty insinuations at the time, but luckily a far more favourable email from the wonderful Mr D soon had me smiling again by the end of the afternoon, and then to top it all off I later came home to yet another email from Jacques saying he still missed me and hoped I’d consider returning to South Africa after all some day too - quite literally never before have I had this much drama / attention in the course of just one Friday afternoon! Only much later did I find out that in one last bizarre twist of fate, on my third date that night with Mr Darcy (dinner at a lovely Thai restaurant followed by a few drinks in a bar with his friends), I very narrowly missed bumping into Mr Ugly himself, who is a friend of a friend of Mr D’s and was on his way to the very bar we were sitting in just as I was getting in a taxi to leave - fuck!! Now that would have been awkward to say the least - Prague is certainly the city of romance (or at least has been for me at any rate!), but at the same time sometimes I really think that this town is far too bloody small for its own good!!!

And as for my ongoing relationship with Mr Darcy, that stepped up a notch this weekend with my first overnight visit to his lovely apartment and, well, the rest is obvious... I like him so much that I’d been really shitting myself about this first occasion (all the things that could potentially go wrong…), but in the event all my worries turned out to be totally unfounded and I have the biggest smile on my face as a result right now - now who says I haven’t found my Mr Big in Prague after all… ;-)






Advertisement



Tot: 1.817s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 27; dbt: 0.071s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1020.9kb