Palau above water, sublimely beautiful!


Advertisement
Palau's flag
Oceania » Palau
March 1st 2009
Published: March 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post

As I said before, the place is absolutely pristine. On our diving days we would stop at beautiful beaches for lunch. We've never seen so much gorgeous water in our lives.

We rented a car with another couple from California and drove around Babeldoab to see some of the land based sites. The pics speak for themselves.


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

Magnificent view & ancient stone monolithsMagnificent view & ancient stone monoliths
Magnificent view & ancient stone monoliths

This jaw dropping view would inspire anyone to build super human works. Once I managed to close my mouth, I was ready to get naked and dance around in the sun with joy.
Carved "scary face"Carved "scary face"
Carved "scary face"

Hm, you gotta look real hard and it looks a bit more like a goofy monkey face to me than a scary face.
Happiest person on the planetHappiest person on the planet
Happiest person on the planet

Really, that is exactly what I was thinking at the moment.
Three stripes of colored waterThree stripes of colored water
Three stripes of colored water

You would just die if I had a Polaroid filter when I snapped these shots.
Giant swimming poolGiant swimming pool
Giant swimming pool

Is this an inviting place for a dip or what?!
You don't have to get into the waterYou don't have to get into the water
You don't have to get into the water

to see sharks. These black tip reef sharks were swimming in the shallows of this rock island beach. If you wanted you could jump in and snorkel with them.
Shark beachShark beach
Shark beach

Toby's keeping the black tips company.
Capitol buildingCapitol building
Capitol building

This place seemed mostly empty at the moment. I believe it was largely funded by the US, your tax dollars at work. ;-) Better Palau though than bailing out a bunch of reckless financial companies who devastated our economy!
Lucky bird Lucky bird
Lucky bird

The capitol building architecture is Greco-Roman but the design motifs on the outside are pure Palau. We made friends with another Cali couple and Billy commented that he could use a bird that crapped money like this one. :) Couldn't we all!
Bai - Men's meeting houseBai - Men's meeting house
Bai - Men's meeting house

This one is over 100 years old.
Cuchi baiCuchi bai
Cuchi bai

We laughed at this woman with her legs spread on the side of this Bai. And she must have had one heck of a weird boob job to get them to point in two directions. ;-) We later learned that women would visit nearby villages and sell themselves for bead money. The deed was done in the men's meeting house, the bai, hence the depiction on the side. No wonder the men met there! The missionaries put an end to this cottage industry. What a bunch of kill joys. ;-)


1st March 2009

Mens house
The mens house is really cool. As for the missionaries ending old practices, I wonder how many other aspects of life they totally altered? Sad. I hope you got more close ups of all the painting. It looks like it could be interpreted as stories of how they lived. The little church looks so sad next to the old mens house. Have fun with the sharks; you ain't getten me in there!
2nd March 2009

wow, looks pretty
Looks fascinating, but I'm sure the pictures don't do it justice. Bring me a capful of sand! Then I'll have to return it someday to keep the natives happy.
2nd March 2009

Gadzooks!
Gadzooks that place is amazing! I don't think I have ever wished I was somewhere else as bad as I did when I saw these pictures. Thanks so much for implanting the images in my brain. I gots to get there somehow. :-)
25th September 2009

Hi!
Great blog!! If you like, come back and visit mine: http://albumdeestampillas.blogspot.com Thanks, Pablo from Argentina

Tot: 0.152s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 68; dbt: 0.0786s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb