Last days in wellington


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand
May 2nd 2016
Published: May 2nd 2016
Edit Blog Post

Milika and Ido were gracious enough to host me for an entire week! It did me good to experience some real hospitality and for that I am forever grateful. Wellington is quite a nice place with the most culture I have seen so far. My last days in Wellington consisted of taking the cable car to the botanical gardens, going to a natural bird reserve with Milika. At the reserve we saw beautiful birds, eels, which were huge! And even a white Kiwi bird! . I have been really lucky with the weather so far and I haven't even gotten sunburn! I also had the best fish and chips of my life there at the Mt Vic chippery. New Zealand looks to me like it is a mix of English and heavy American influences. Coming from Japan that was kind of a surprise because I was expecting a very unique western culture, this was not the case though. The last night in Wellington I met Gareth, a kiwi. A very nice fella and we had some food and drinks. The next day I was in the bus for 12 hours and I thought I was going to die of boredom. Arriving in Auckland again made me realize how very different it is from Wellington. A good comparison would be the cultural heartland Amsterdam and the industrial city of Rotterdam. My next update will probably be about Hong Kong except if I encounter some new experiences here.

Ciao!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.184s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1069s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb