Day 15: Recap – 12 Moments When My Happiness Level Hit 12/10


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand
January 1st 2012
Published: January 23rd 2012
Edit Blog Post

In the actually day 15 itself, there’s not much to share. I basically woke up, pack up my bags, and took the 16 NZD bus to the airport. That’s it. And rather than dramatizing the regular event, I thought I’d prefer to recap the key highlights of the journey. Not for anyone else. Just for myself. As I’m sure the details of the experience will drifted away as time goes by. So I’m writing this – so I can look back, smile and realize how wonderful the journey is.

Here are my key highlights, where my happiness level hits 12 out of 10 scales – NOT in particular order.

1. Enjoying Perfect Setting at Lake Matheson – where the sky is blue, the clouds are swipey, the angle of the light was perfect to take picture, the air was cool and breezy… Aaahhh, it was just… perfect. We sat there for like 1.5 hours and just enjoying the view. Looking at the picture of the lake, I must say – it was more amazing in my mind rather than in JPEG. And I actually love the field near Lake Matheson more. There are couple of benches that you can sit on to enjoy the field, glacier… basically just enjoy life. THAT’s what I called, perfect.

2. Drowning Myself in Sea of Yellow Mustard Flowers – they say the best things in life are the unexpected; which is dead on in this particular case. We were going to Christchurch from Mount Cook, at the end of our South Island loop. I literally thought there will be no more highlights on the trip. Just when I least expected – this sea of yellow mustard flowers came out of nowhere. Just rolling hills of it! AND, it’s just so happen that we stopped near the gate, which was unlocked. So we let ourselves in and start to take pictures. I’ve been wanting to take picture in such setting. I’d never thought that I’d get it in New Zealand, as the place never pops up in any of my research.

3. Soaking My Feet in Fantail Waterfall– I’ve been walking for days at that point. Although my shoes were comfortable, but it is still tiring. We stopped at this small waterfall just right before Blue Pools. Not many people there because it’s not very famous. The water is just amazingly clear, although it’s common in South Island. When everybody goes straight to the waterfall, I steer my way to the quiet corner of the river. Just enjoying the view, all by myself. I soaked my feet in the water, bare footed, and feel the cold water melting all of my tiredness and sorrow away. At that moment, life felt worthwhile. I took a sip of the water and it’s as refreshing (although I should’ve drink it first before putting my feet in it!) I do wish that I can just bathe in it, but realistically I can’t. But I’m already happy with what I can have at that moment.

4. Lupin Field & Waimakariri River at Arthur’s Pass – during my research, I was amazed by lupins; the summer wild flowers. It came in different hues but yet live side by side. We found a field of it at Arthur’s Pass, near Waimakariri River. I’ve always had a thing for flower field, ever since my Netherland trip failed (read: not yet happening). It was the first day of our road trip by car, and I’m amazed of how quick my wish list fulfilled.

5. Pink Sunset & Double Rainbows in Queenstown – I don’t see rainbows that often. So to see TWO rainbows at one time, is special. It was blue skies for days, and it is as if the short drizzle was only meant to deliver the rainbows. Gorgeous. The sunset begins as an “ordinary” one, before the sky opens up and radiates pretty pink/purple/fuchsia color. To be honest, I’ve seen better sunset in Langkawi – where my husband and I dance to it until the sun went down. But this one in Queenstown is something to remember too.

6. The Day I Jumped Over a Cliff – paragliding was supposed to be the “easiest” and “gentles” out of all the other extreme sports. But yet it is mind boggling to run and jump over a cliff! My first attempt was aborted and seeing the paraglider right before me had their parachute not fully open was unsettling. But somehow I managed to be bold enough just to seize the moment. I screamed for a solid 2-3 minutes. But I did it anyway! The weather was perfect and the view was amazing! Highlight moment!

8. Day Trip to Akaroa – this place was originally not in my final itinerary. But all of a sudden an empty seat popped out in the Singapore Airlines website out of nowhere, and I can extend my stay free of charge. And it was the right decision indeed. The views are gorgeous, the little French Village was charming and saw many wildlife during the cruise as well. Even the tour guide is saying that this is better than average. Another nice surprise is the unexpected stop at Birdlings Flat - as it has this gorgeous pebble beach with turqoise ocean. I've always wanted to go to a pebble beach! Got so many great pictures on that day, and came to realize how wonderfully nice New Zealanders are!

9. Catching a Falling Leaf – now, this title might be a bit strange. How can capturing a dead leaf be a happy moment? But for me somehow it was. It is in the middle of summer. Yet there’s a blizzard of falling leaves as we were enrouting to Milford Sound. The fresh air, the cool breeze, the sun stroking you gently from behind the tree canopies, the pretty Mirror Lakes… Everything works like a symphony that builds up the moment. And the highlight was when the wind delivers a leaf to my palm; and at the same time it kept showering me with many more. I am… truly happy… And so inspired to take autumn trip someday to other parts of the world.

10.Finding the Perfect Gift my dearest husband, bless his heart, is a person with not many worldly desires. When I asked him what does he want, he just humbly say he just wants me to have a good time, stay safe & healthy, and perhaps a picture of a particular sheep with black face and white fur (like Shaun the Sheep cartoon). And I’ve always known that he likes chocolate very much. So it’s a joy for me to find this customized chocolate in Arrowtown where it has those particular sheeps at the cover. It’s the perfect gift, for the special person in my life *smile*

11. Dorama Lunch in the Rain – “dorama” is Japanese TV series. And that day I literally felt like I’m in one. It’s raining outside, and I’m sheltered in some random Japanese restaurant that I pointed out as we were trying to seek protection from the rain in Auckland. The meal was delicious, the company was entertaining, and the music at the background is just dreamy. It was truly a moment to remember.


12. Acceptance – Does anyone knows what are the 5 stages of grieving? It’s Denial - Anger - Bargaining - Depression - and finally, Acceptance. I’m NOT grieving. But life is not always a walk in the park either. I am happy that I’m in a stage in my life where I am capable of accepting people for who they are, accepting (and actually appreciating) myself – the good and the bad, and accepting reality for what they really are. Life doesn’t always turns out how I wanted them to be, and I often still wish I have a magic wand that can just make things go my way - but I am doing my best to make the most of whatever life throws at me. And despite of the hurricanes, I am at peace…

During the journey I often asked myself, "Is this is a dream? Is this a dream?". And after the trip ended, it still felt like a dream. If it's not because of the tons of pictures, perhaps it is only a dream ha ha... For anyone who is considering to go to NZ, by all means, GO! It's very much worth it. Make sure you plan well and enjoy the journey.

And when one journey ends, the follow up question is always – where should I go next? I have a pretty good idea of what I want, as always *smile*. But for now, I’ll just keep the plan to myself and we’ll see how the future will plays out. Haere Ra!

To view more of my travel pictures – pls go to http://www.flickr.com/photos/ariyanti_p/sets/72157628705874019/

Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0253s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb