Stewart Island & The Catlins Coastline


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand
March 3rd 2007
Published: February 27th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Stewart IslandStewart IslandStewart Island

The small town of Oban on Stewart Island.
From Te Anau I caught a scenic bus ride through to Invercargill & Bluff to catch the ferry to Stewart Island - the third island of NZ. The crossing was apparently only "average" for roughness, but everyone was thrown about an awful lot. Lots of leaving your stomach behind. I couldn't stop giggling the whole way across for the one hour ride but can see why the guide book recommends the flight.

The next day, I went on a guided nature walk on the nearby Ulva Island. This is a small island where all predators have been removed and many of the flora species have hardly changed in millions of years so the island gives a glimpse into what NZ was like millions of years ago. Many native bird species have been re-introduced so this is a real mecca for ornithologists. We saw saddlebacks, tui, bellbirds, kakas, red-crowned parakeets and the very rare yellowheads all in their natural wild environment. An albatross followed us on the boat across. This was my first ever attempt at birdwatching and I found it unbelievably relaxing. Hours just passed on this island without me noticing at all.

I had a very sociable time
Stewart Island RobinsStewart Island RobinsStewart Island Robins

Two Stewart Island robins seen on the nearby Ulva Island.
on Stewart Island meeting three good people: an Oxbridge animal behaviour post-doc called Claire and two German girls travelling together: Astrid & Karen who were a bad influence on me in the pub.(!) The four of us all met up again in Dunedin for a fun night out including a visit to a terrible student club during freshers week.

Whilst on Stewart Island I walked the Raikura track - my third of NZ's "Great Walks". This is normally a three day 36km walk through temperate rainforest with lots of time for swimming at the beautiful beaches and birdwatching - but I only had a day so got round in 8 hours. I did find some time to appreciate the scenery, but the rush was good training for my forthcoming mountaineering course.

On Friday (2nd March) I took another scenic bus from Stewart Island along the Catlins Coastline to Dunedin. This is a very special section of costline with lots of wildlife, impressive cliffs, shipwreck sites & the famous "nuggets": impressive sea stacks off the coast at Nugget Point.

The scenery & coastline in the west & south of NZ's South Island has been continually awesome and I
The NuggetsThe NuggetsThe Nuggets

The Nuggets on the Catlins coast
can't recommend a visit to it highly enough. However, today I head away from the coast and towards Queenstown, Wanaka and the mountains to see what they have to show me.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Night Walk to Ackers Point LighthouseNight Walk to Ackers Point Lighthouse
Night Walk to Ackers Point Lighthouse

Me, Karen, Susan, Astrid & Clare on a night hike out to Ackers Point Lighthouse on Stewart Island.


Tot: 0.192s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 67; dbt: 0.1303s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb