Same Shirt, Different Day!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island
December 11th 2009
Published: December 12th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Captin Kendra!Captin Kendra!Captin Kendra!

Driving the boat in Milford Sound
So while I write this, you should all know it’s about 30 degree’s outside, and I am sitting my porch enjoying the view of some palm tree’s, the beach, ocean and boardwalk! Now if that doesn’t make you jealous, I don’t know what will!!

Within the last month many exciting things have happened! Most importantly…I finished my practice teaching placement and began my summer vacation. The first week was spend mostly just on the beach in 40 degree weather and surfing everyday! (see picture of my new surf board!) The last 2 weeks Sara and I spent in New Zealand. Quite the change from the weather in Australia, but overall, it is a very beautiful country and was a fantastic trip! Some highlights from the trip include
- Living in a van
- Driving on the wrong side of the road… with some very mountainous drives and crazy turns!
- Buying an iPod connector for the van (a very essential part of our trip resulting in many hours of sing alongs)
- Counting the number of sheep fields we saw
- Stopping for our morning coffee in a scenic location
- Taking on the van pictures (I’m sure you can
New Board!New Board!New Board!

(The yellow one)
see what I mean)
- Bungy jumping on the Nevis 134m Bungy
- Going Caving and Black water rafting with glow worms
- Checking out the Glaciers
- Doing the Skyline Luge in Queenstown
- Seeing penguins and seals in Milford Sound
- Many hikes to the top of mountains, rain or shine, we did em’ anyway!
- Bumping into Sara’s friends at a campsite in the middle of no where
- Wearing the same sweater and pants multiple days in a row because it was so cold! (Variations included scarves and the wearing of a raincoat plus the sweater and t-shirts under the sweater!)
- Cooking vegetable stir fry (Rice as a luxury) on a nightly basis
- Eating many meals inside the car due to rain, wind, or general bad weather!
- Learning many life lessons including not to throw out maps before you leave town…

Now, back on the Sunshine Coast I have moved into my new home on the beach and look forward to relaxing around here and doing lots of surfing for the next month! Unfortunately, I will not have consistent Internet access from now until about February, so you will have to put up with a lack of contact and inconsistent blog updates… BUT this does NOT that I don’t love you all and it does NOT mean I still don’t want to hear from you!!




Additional photos below
Photos: 41, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Morning Coffee!Morning Coffee!
Morning Coffee!

Daily routine of finding a scenic spot to pull over for our morning coffee's!! (instant coffee of course!)
Pancake RocksPancake Rocks
Pancake Rocks

Look closely to see the face in the rocks looking out towards the ocean
Frans Joseph GlacierFrans Joseph Glacier
Frans Joseph Glacier

Sara, brave enough to feel the glacial river!
Jacobs River!!! Jacobs River!!!
Jacobs River!!!

Of course we had to pull a U-Turn for a picture!
Van Shot!Van Shot!
Van Shot!

Check out the mountains and cloud combo!


12th December 2009

Great pics
You got some raelly great pics. Like the Wicked camper paint job. Love Daddy
12th December 2009

Wow- some really great shots! Loved the Yoga on the van- I have to send it to my yoga buddy Leslie! (whom I did yoga with once in my life, then couldn't move for a week...) Still waiting for the bungee jump pics........and too scared to see it.......... I can see why living in a van that size was "tiring" after a while! Nice paint job tho! Loved reading your blog-
12th December 2009

I am jealous
It sounds so exciting. What do you mean bungy jumping?So glad you are having a great time.Amazing pics!!
12th December 2009

These are some of the sickest pics I've ever seen! JEALOUS! Mostly of the sweeet van....haha MISS YOU!!!
13th December 2009

Looks Like Fun
Hi Kendra, Sounds like you're having the time of your life! Enjoy. Ruth
14th December 2009

Kendra!!! you look so zen sitting on top of your van drinking coffee.. miss you and ill see you soon.. in like a month! lots of love.. -alan
16th December 2009

What an exiting trip- some of the pictures stirred our memories of our trip with David and Elaine - not the van !!! we travelled in a little more luxury. A magnificent experience for you.
22nd December 2009

Nice van!
Hey Kendra!!! Love this entry! Looks like you guys had one heck of a vacation! Looooove the van! The graffiti on the outside is just superbe. I hope you have a fabulous holiday! I may just be paying you a visit at the end of April-May. Watch out!! haha Miss youu! xoxo

Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0456s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.2mb