Ohau mountain- and a lot of rain


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island
July 23rd 2009
Published: July 23rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hello from Ohau!

The mountain is closed due to too much snow (huh?) so Mike and I are watching Little Miss Sunshine at the lodge with some other people who are powder freaks. They are the only people for probably 100 Km, so we're certainly going to have an epic day tomorrow.

We camped out in a clearing not far from the lodge last night. We didn't think we would need the rainfly on the tent, but we put it up anyway, just because it's a typical rookie mistake to assume the weather will favor you.

Well around 10 pm the wind started blowing pretty hard, and probably around 3am a torrential downpour started. It's 2 pm here now and still raining a little, but it's good news because all the rain here just means snow on top of the mountain. There should be at least a foot and a half of new snow once we get to the chairs, so DONT expect me to take any pictures!

We don't have much to do today, so I took a few pictures of the lake next to the lodge. It's basically a lake surrounded by mountains covered in snow. No trees above the lake, which makes it even more breathtaking. Leave me a comment and tell me how things are! I can't use the internet very much, but I'll update you as I can. We should be back late friday night.

Keep us in your prayers!
Parker

Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0318s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb