Motorcycling near Christchurch


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island
October 15th 2005
Published: October 15th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Man this place is great for motorcycling. There are tight twisty hilly roads in great shape that go on for miles with amazing views of bays, the ocean, and layers of mountains.
Yesterday I went with a mate of Harry's (the guy I am staying with) all around the knob near Christchurch. We road 230 Km all over some steep dirt roads, some fast twisties, just great stuff and a wonderful way to spend my last day here.

I head off to Fiji today with no plan for then next week.
This sounds like a petty complaint, but I can't believe I only have one more country to visit and then it is back home. I can't believe how many people never even leave the states, and neither can most of the rest of the world. People don't understand why over 80% of the US doesn't even have passports and I can't either especially since traveling. I have to add it up, but I think I may have actually spent less traveling than if I had just stayed home. Maybe not, but pretty close.

I am going to miss hearing things like "Hey, you want to checkout the cock fights down the street?" and "The coke, its 5 million lira"

I would love to try and explain it here but you just have to see it yourself. I'll post some pictures so you at least have an idea what I am talking about.

See ya next weekend... that is a bit happy and sad to write.
Garret


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

mountians and more mountainsmountians and more mountains
mountians and more mountains

The southern alps are in the back


Tot: 0.176s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 59; dbt: 0.0791s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb