Mt Hutt


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island
July 4th 2007
Published: July 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

We stayed in Methven for 2 nights so i could go snowboarding. The caravan site was horrid and the showers were disgusting and cold. I went snowboarding by myself as Sarah and Debbie werent too keen. I booked a shuttle to take me to the top of Mt Hutt and pick me up at the end of the day. Mt Hutt is supposed to be one of the best skiing fields in NZ. Unfortunately when i got there the snow was rather shocking at around 20-25cm. It was ok for a beginner like me. It was hard! i must have falled over 100 times but it was good fun. (Not a patch on skiing though - Sorry Jim!) So i spent most of the time on my bum, but it was cool. By the end i had got the hang of it and was able to turn both ways and even execute a controlled stop!

Our instructor, Jamie was great and must have had a lot of patience. The weather was bitterly cold. Much colder than in Queenstown. The view from Mt Hutt was awesome and i could see for miles. The shuttle picked me up at 4:00pm and took me back to the campsite. I didnt like the drive as it was an unsealed road with a sheer drop to one side.

The next day we drove the final leg to Christchurch. It was quite a boring journey and sad in a way, knowing our trip was coming to an end. We parked at the campsite and booked in for the remaining 7 nights. We are still here now and just counting down the days until we fly home. We are all excited about going home, if not a little aprehensive about starting new jobs and futures. There are still a few days to go in which we will be copying our photos to CD and trying to pack everything back into our bags. I am pretty sure mine wont all fit so i may have to buy another bag.

If anyone has tips on getting into First class please let us know as i am dreading cattle class for 23 hours! I shall probably write another small blog when i get back home, so i guess this is it from the lovely New Zealand. I can promise you all something...I'LL BE BACK!

Love Kate xxxx

P.S Pictures to follow, this computer doesnt have a USB port.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0775s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb