Horses, Lots of Rain and Several Trees


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » West Coast » Westport
February 14th 2006
Published: February 14th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well, I am now in the South Island of New Zealand. Near Westport to be exact!
I travelled to several places in the North Island including Taupo, Tauranga, Rotorua and Napier, all are nice, too clean and organised for my liking I think...
I gave up on the farm as I wanted to do more hands on stuff with animals, so asked several treking centres if I could come and work in exchange for accomodation.
I had loads of resonses and chose one that looked the most interesting. It is called Bullers Adventure Tours and has all sorts of adventure options from white water rafting to quad biking.
I am helping with the treks and looking after the 11 horses, with another girl.
The scenery around here is amazing, I am based in the Buller Gorge which is stunning scenery, mountains, river and sub-tropical forest!
The treks are fantastic, we go through the gorge and ride through the overflowing rivers... As well as galloping along the sandy river beach!
It is fantastic!
I am staying in the camp base with the other girl and having some privicy after so many hostels on the North Island is great!
So far the weather has left a bit to be desired but it is so fun that it makes up for it and more!
Apart from a slight episode of madness involving a snooker cue, a car window and several big lads I have found the South Island to be more relaxed and slightly less main-strem then the North.
The scenery is more dramatic and the atmosphere more laid back!
What more could you want??


Advertisement



17th April 2006

Horses
Gonny bring back some of the horses!
22nd April 2006

Wowee
Have never really been a full on traveller, more of a holidayer but am gonna start saving and get out there. Its soo inspiring. Write some more!!!!
22nd April 2006

PS
Take care of yourself lady!!!

Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0421s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb