The Waitahu Valley


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » West Coast » Reefton
March 26th 2007
Published: August 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Into the Waitahu ValleyInto the Waitahu ValleyInto the Waitahu Valley

Half way down the slope to the Waitahu River - I thought I was much further
Regular followers of the blog will recall that last Monday, I took on but wisely did not finish the Blackpoint - Waitahu Valley track (it was late and recent rain had made a required river crossing a bit risky). The fact that I was not able to complete the circuit niggled at me all week. We have had 5 very fine days without any rain, so I determined to set out much earlier this time to conquer this trail. I left around noon but blew out two tires (or tyres) in a row. It turned out that the tire had a cut in the sidewall and needed to be replaced together with a new tube. The Reefton sports shop was able to sell me a replacement and I hit the road just after 1:00.

I climbed along the Murray Creek past several old mines to Waitahu Junction (about a 250m climb). I had a couple of delicious peanut butter and jam sandwiches before completing the climb and heading down in to the Waitahu Valley. The trail has all but disappeared following a major landslide. I headed down on what started out to be a reasonably worn path, but this quickly disappeared. I eventually found a small creek bed and followed this down - certain that it would eventually run into the Waitahu River. The hill was quite steep and I had to carry my bike down 200m over dozens of fallen trees and other obstacles. Just when the terrain leveled out and I was confident that I would make the river, the vegetation closed in. In all it took me almost 2 hours to make my way down to the river.

Just when I was giving up hope, I emerged from the tangled undergrowth at what I assumed was the river. The river was about 70 m across at this point. It was crystal clear and you could clearly make out the rocks along the bed. I judged that it was perhaps knee deep at its deepest point. I was quite wrong - as I waded out I found the river was up to my waist at points. Safely on the other side, I got out my GPS and topo map (thanks again Graeme) to find my location on the river. I was not very confident in my navigating skills and the GPS was acting up. Adding to my misery were the hundreds of sand flies which created clouds around my head. I could not see my map at times, the bugs were so thick. It was at this point, I wondered how long it would be before Astrid sent out the rescue.

After moving along the river a bit to get a better GPS positioning, I decide that my navigation was right and I proceeded up the other bank which was much steeper and covered with prickly vines. After "bush beating" for about 20 metres, I came across the 4x4 track that I was looking for. I was greatly relieved. An 18 km ride back to Reefton completed the journey. I pulled into the driveway just as the sun was setting. It was one of those journeys where the joy is in having completed it - I don't think I will repeat this particular one.

Advertisement



26th March 2007

???????
Poor you being swarmed like that. good luck with your next outing
26th March 2007

Thanks Sis, you're very supportive.
27th March 2007

Congratulations
Looks like your getting into fine shape to be pool side when you get back! Sounds like one heck of a trek...I hope you do it a few more times - find the path that works for you
27th March 2007

Bites
The question is: How many of the hundreds of sandflies actually bit you?
27th March 2007

Sand flies
Surprisingly few acutally bit me.
28th March 2007

Your country excursions
Be careful, Paul. Remember you have a wife and family. Is it fun living the life of Crocodile Dundee (minus the crocodiles)? Tim would probably like to join you on these adventures. By the way, I love your pictures. But who took that picture of you stuck in muck and rocks?
29th March 2007

Self Portrait
Sadly, I took the picture of myself as I was alone in the bush, but I wanted to prove I was out there.

Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0384s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb