Alpine Train


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » West Coast » Greymouth
March 7th 2014
Published: June 23rd 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: -42.4576, 171.206


The intercity bus picked me up from Yha to go to Greymouth for the Transalphine train to Christchurch and on the way we stopped at Harihari, Hokitika and Kumara junction. We arrived at the Greymouth station just when the train arrived and all the passengers were coming out. The train was delayed for 40 mins so we had to wait outside till the train was ready and finally the train took off.

TranzAlpine train.

The TranzAlpine is run by New Zealand train operator Kiwi Rail which runs once daily between Christchurch, Arthurs Pass, Greymouth and back passing the mountain scenery of the Southern Alps, the journey takes 4½ hours.The Seats in the train were very comfortable with clean glass windows for viewing the scenery, there were open viewing platforms to look at the lovely scenery and to take pictures; we passed mountains, valleys, Sheep, lake and rivers. We had to get off the train and ride a bus before the tunnel for 15-20 minutes, the bus views near Arthur's Pass were lovely especially of the valley and it was better than going through the dark tunnel in the train.

Though the scenery was amazing, I would not describe it as the most spectacular in New Zealand especially after seeing the Milford sound and Glaciers, but then the train is the most relaxing way to see the Southern Alps so I was pleased that I took the train. We arrived at Christchurch, 45 mins behind schedule and I took the shuttle to YMCA; the staff gave me the same room as my start of my S Island trip which was really nice. I asked her to book me super shuttle for next morning at 3 am to go to airport and I watched some TV, chatted to the girls. They looked up the weather for Blue Mountains in Sydney for me, which was very sweet of them. I retired early as I had 6 am flight to Sydney and I felt very comfortable in my room at YMCA.

My Summary of New Zealand


New Zealand is a beautiful, diverse country which has a lot to offer with Mountains, Lakes, Glaciers, Fiords and Volcanic activity etc. Backpacking/flash packing here was fun and very enjoyable experience where I met so many people of all age groups. The Kiwis are really friendly with amazing sense of humour, I travelled in public transport and I had booked the New Zealand local buses/tours from London. I had also made sure that my hostels were near the bus/tour pick up point so it was easy to travel. As a woman travelling solo, I felt very safe here. Both the islands have lot to offer with South island being very scenic.
My favourite places are Rotorua where I was fascinated with the thermal activity, Wanaka for its tranquillity and the beautiful turquoise blue Lake Tekopa.


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement



Tot: 0.142s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 41; dbt: 0.0444s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb