Puzzling Times


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Wanaka
October 7th 2014
Published: October 19th 2014
Edit Blog Post

October 7 & 8 - I spent two and a half weeks in Australia mostly in shorts and a t-shirt and never got so much as a scratch! Australia! Where there are more things that can kill you than anywhere on the planet! I did see a poisonous snake, a crocodile and one spider, but they all seemed totally disinterested in me. But in New Zealand, while covered head to toe in several layers of clothing with only my hands and face peeking out, I got five bites on my hands from these nasty little sand flies. Itchy, painful bites that I slathered with itch cream to no effect and kept me up at night. Several days later, I noticed my hand was quite red and swollen around one of the bites. So I checked with Dr. Google who recommended cold water, itch cream and an antihistamine. I followed the advice and went to bed. Next morning, there was no change. Dr. Google said this could be something a real doctor might need to look at, so off to the Wanaka Health Clinic.



I was seen in less than a half hour by a lovely doctor who told me to try a different antihistamine and also gave me a prescription for an antibiotic in case it got worse. I wasn’t charged the full amount for the visit because in New Zealand they cover the cost of accidents, and bugs biting you counts as accidents as you don’t usually go out trying to get bit. How very civilized!



After purchasing a new antihistamine, we set off for Puzzling World, a place filled with all things that challenge and boggle the mind! It was overcast with a light drizzle, but we braved the elements and headed into the 3-D Maze hoping to complete it before the heavens opened. It was tricky, but we (David helped me a lot) did manage to find all four corners and return to the start before the rain came pouring down. Inside, we went into the illusion gallery where not only my mind was confused, but so was my body as it was hard to stand at times! It’s one of those places that makes everyone, regardless of age, feel and, sometimes act, like an eight-year old kid! Remember when the world was full of surprises!?


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



Tot: 0.195s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 28; qc: 129; dbt: 0.1048s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb