Treble Cone Mountain


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Wanaka
July 26th 2006
Published: July 27th 2006
Edit Blog Post

warm enough for a t-shirt!warm enough for a t-shirt!warm enough for a t-shirt!

From Treble Cone Car park, i had the giggles throughout!
Hot off the Press, I am writing on Thursday 27th July, and it was less than 24hours ago that I tooka road trip to Wanaka and Treble Cone Mountain.

But FIRST, a bit of an apology for not writing for so long... it's been difficult juggling work with snowboarding/tiredness/going out, to actually find time to write the blog - and when i did find time about two weeks ago, i spent an hour composing a masterpeice, before the computer crashed!!

To cut a long story short, I have been in New Zealand for approx. 6weeks now. I got a job at Dux De Lux within the first 10days of being here - very lucky, as there are huge numbers of people seeking work, whilst jobs are few and far between.

However I wasn't so lucky on the accomodation front. I spent one week each in four different hostels (The Last Resort*****/Aspen Lodge**/Bungi Backpackers***/Deco Backpackers* ), as they have a very strange policy of 7day stay max in a hostel in Queenstown - I, to this day haven't found a genuine reason as to why. The silver lining in this story being that
Home Sweet HomeHome Sweet HomeHome Sweet Home

Mr. Michael Nyffeler, my new Nebraskan housemate.
i now live in an excellent house, the only drawback being the 35min walk from town! So birthday cards (6th August) to: 15a Williams St., Sunshine Bay, Fernhill, Queenstown, New Zealand ;-) !!!!

So back to my trip yesterday. 7 of us (3 Americans, 3 Irish and me the token brit) went in two cars (6.30am dep.). Queenstown is serviced by two mountains (Coronet Peak & The Remarkables), whilst Cardrona & Treble Cone are a couple of hours away in Wanaka. Treble Cone is renowned as a Skiers' mountain because of it's steepness and the level tracks between runs which mean boarders have to walk if they haven't got enough speed. It being probably my 8th day of boarding, (i'm getting there, but I ache all over today, which will tell you that I'm falling a lot still!) I am still learning, but going out with people who have been generally doing it a lot lo-nger than me, which inevitably means i end up off piste and on black runs which i would never entertain if left to my own devices.

I have lots more to tell everyone, but time is short today, and i must get to
Coronet PeakCoronet PeakCoronet Peak

The early days of boarding, where most of the time was spent on the floor.(Left to Right: Myself, JohnD and Niamh.)
work on time. More news (especially to fill in the unaccounted for 4week+ gap) soon!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Lake WanakaLake Wanaka
Lake Wanaka

the calm before the apres ski


27th July 2006

great pics
The place looks amazing....now can't wait for the next instalment! Miss you!
6th August 2006

HAPPY BIRTHDAY for the 6th!
great place to celebrate it in!

Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0468s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb