Pinky and Wanaka


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Wanaka
August 31st 2011
Published: August 31st 2011
Edit Blog Post

Hi Everybody,

Hope you are all well, rock on to the 21 people who read my last blog, keeping going for you guys and me!

So i'm in Wanaka with my good mate Pinky aka Kieran from uni. Warany knows him, not sure if that good or bad hey Warany, haha! He went traveling 4 years ago and has not been back, haha, good boy... I left Queenstown on Saturday morning and came up here, I had defo had enough of drinking and partying and its good to be back on the backpack trail and not in Queenstown. I must be getting old hey, haha...

So my last few days in Queenstown I spent my time working in the hostel. We also played frisbee golf one day which was really fun, they have a frisbee golf course in Queenstown. same as golf, 18 holes but you have to chuck your frisbee in the basket, where the hole would be in golf! I was rubbish at it, but it was defo the frisbee's fault and not mine as me and 1 of the irish boys had old dodgy ones and everybody else had super duper heavy and good ones, oh well! I'm not competative, honest...If Foster is reading this which I doubt very much as he is totally useless, we will discuss the round on my return... We also played ice hockey one day which was really cool, there was some little kid who was really good and another guy who was pretty sick at it from the hostel. The rest of us split in 2 and we played a couple of games. i was pretty good actually, apart from I can't stop at skating and bagged myself a nice few goals. I had 3 irish guys in my room, who were all well sound. Spent all my time with those boys, the hostel crewe and my mate Simon, Chris, Georgie who were over at base hostel. Said lots of goodbyes and got outa there to Wanaka...

I met Pinky on Saturday Morning in Wanaka. I arrived at 10am and had toast and a cup of tea, by the lake. Pinky was up the mountain snowboarding as his parents and sister were over for 3 weeks visiting him, as he is living here. I laid by the lake for about 3 hours, with not a care in the world, very chilled. I'm going to put my neck out and say Wanaka is defo in the top 3 favourite places I have been, probs number 1 just...google it and have a loo, awesome place...

Pinky grabbed me at 2 and took me to his. his flatmates are kiwi's but really nice and well sound. Chilled the afternoon and relaxed, caught up on some internet on the laptop. So nice to be staying in a house. I had his flatmates room this week as he is away, thanks for coming. I met Pinky when he finished work at 11pm and we went to see some live music, was really good and some of the guys were so talented. Dad you would of loved it...! We hit the slopes the next day, well me and ally Pinky's flatmate, as he was working. We ski and boarded all day and were doing jumps and rails in the snowpark. I had a huge stack on the very last rail and was lucky not to break anything, got a very sore back and bum now though...We got back and told Pinky and Sam what a great day we had, was so much fun. That night we went to another gig a band called the black seeds. I didn't have a ticket but got in using the old stamp trick, thanks for coming. Saved 40 bucks. Sam's brother and mates were all over and they were out with us, which was really cool. All very nice people. The next day we all hit the slopes, massive group of us, again we spent a lot of time in the snowpark. That night we did nothing, watched 2 dvds, me and pink both fell asleep and woke up on the sofa in the middle of the night. Its so cool having to keep the fire stoked to keep the house warm, the little things make me happy, haha...

Me and Pink had a massive lay in and then hit the slopes again yesterday. Just did 3 hours, i'm pretty good at the jumps now, Warany watch out...! Last night we went to watch some DJ, was ok but to busy. Today we had another lay in and today I have watched the films we fell asleep to, Bruges and Layer Cake. layer Cake is so cool, seen it before though! Pinky working again tonight till 11, so i'm going to the cinema in a bit. ally works there, but it is supposed to be a really funky, cool little cinema, can't wait...

You watch the films on sofas and there is an Interval, haha, old school. gota leave tomorrow and spend 1 night in Queenstown and get the bus early Friday morning. So so so so so so so so don't want to go, I love this place and Pinky. Going to hitchhike back to save some money. Going to chill and read my book all night when I get there...then Friday head up to the North island, will be in Wellington on Saturday at some point. Rock on...

Love you all

Luke x x x


Advertisement



Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0352s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1mb