Wanaka ho


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Wanaka
March 14th 2010
Published: March 14th 2010
Edit Blog Post

It's been another day of travelling today, the coach left fox at 8ish this morning And after travelling through the mountains I arrived at Wanaka (wa-na-ka) this lake side town is queentowns smaller sister, but just as well known for it's walking and adventurous activities. 
The bus journey was an adventure in itself, our driver "big George" was a talkaholic, the journies I've taken so far have involved a bit of running commentary from the driver. But big George was a gregarious character. 
The bus travelled through the mountains to it's first stop at a salmon farm, a short covered walkway took all the passangers to the ponds and cafe. Well Im not sure ponds. It was one big pond with 4 octagonal wooden enclosures of about 8m across. Each of these had salmon at different levels of maturity, the first was little ones about 6 inches and there were what looked like 1000's in there ciring round in a termoil, the next had 100's of bigger fish maybe a foot in length, I couldn't see the other 2 but I suspect 1 was empty and the final 1 had the really big boys if the splashing was to be believed. While Interesting, I was amazed to see the difference between the fish in the tanks and those who had obviously escaped and were living in the surrounding pond, those in the tanks were in constant motion, circling in shoals first one way and then the other, however those few outside where calm resting in the shallower water, almost lethargically flicking there fins to move them slowly, peacfully across the water. It was sad to watch those poor buggers in an 8m tank with 1000's of others
After that my day has been chilled, I read my book on my bunk chatted with the girls in my dorm and ate fish and chips by the lake. 
A calm day was just what I needed, especially because tomorrow I'm going canyoning all day, in a wetsuit and water whoop.  


Advertisement



14th March 2010

Salmon
Probably not the forum to bore everyone with my observations on tanked fish... I'm sure they were fine though. I will ask Juan in the office about his approach to narrating his coach journies for his passengers. If I can drag him off his sunbed.

Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0364s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb