Lake Wanaka - the day(s) we took our bravery to the next level . .WE ONLY WENT AND DID IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Wanaka
June 14th 2009
Published: June 16th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Beautiful Lake Wanaka....Beautiful Lake Wanaka....Beautiful Lake Wanaka....

....mum's favourite x
So. Those of you who know and love us or even those who don't but have been following our little blog of our travels will know by now that Geen and I, whilst arguably hardcore party girls, intrepid explorers and open minded souls (ahem), we are NOT the kind of girls who will throw ourselves out of a plane at 15 000 feet and free fall for a whole minute before parachuting across Lake Wanaka. So guess what? . . .
Wanaka is Ma Bloom's favourite place in NZ and you can see why. Its a gorgeous little town, with the beautiful lake which reflects the mountain range behind it. Wonderful. Just the sort of place to take your life in your hands.
With both brother Nick and mother Lorraine already undertaking a skydive over Lake Wanaka, Geen's ambition was to achieve the same. And me? Well, at first, I had no inclination to do anything of the sort, but you kinda get swept away with the excitement of it all . .
So off we went to 'Skydive Lake Wanaka' and having met her tandem partner, Chris, Geen finally realised that yes, she was going to go through with it and smiling all the way, climbed into the plane, whilst I forlornly waved from the ground to my lovely travel buddy. It seemed like I only had time to blink before she was out, her bright red parachute marking her descent to terra firma! Effing amazing!!! The brave girl, apart from feeling a bit queasy, was still smiling! Then we watched the fantastic DVD, which was so emotional, it got me balling - but I wasn't sure whether that was due to being overwhelmed at Geen's bravery or the knowledge that, if I got the go ahead from my optician (dodgy eye) I would be doing exactly the same tomorrow.
After gettin the go ahead and the longest night of my life, we made our way back to the Skydive Wanaka and after meeting my tandem partner, Grant, I boarded the plane for probably the most unnerving and crazy experience of my life.
Free falling for a minute, feels like a lifetime, its hard to breath but feels more like floating than plummetting and all the while, you have your cameraman snapping away, taking possibly the most unflattering pics you will ever see of yourself. And then, its all over, as the parachute opens, you float like a butterfly, taking in the panoramic views of Wanaka and beyond.
TOTALLY AMAZING!!!!! Just look at the pictures and you'll see what I mean . . .
Oh, and as Geen just reminded me, we also did a couple other things in Wanaka, including visit the quaint Cinema Paradiso, with comfy settees to lounge on whilst watching the film and an optional dinner that you can take in with you. We also had a walk around the beautiful lake. But back to the skydive photos cos thats what you really wanna see, right?


Additional photos below
Photos: 131, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 16; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0228s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb