Science Fair for Graham


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Timaru
September 29th 2008
Published: September 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Solar DesalinationSolar DesalinationSolar Desalination

The tank in operation.
2008 Science Fair Project - Solar Desalination

In August I chose my science fair project topic. I chose this topic because I knew it would be interesting. I did online research and built a desalination tank in my kitchen and I put it out for 4 days and got 50mls of fresh water. (It wasn't very sunny which is why I didn't get very much.) We took sea water from the Pacific Ocean which is 5 minutes away from my house in New Zealand. See photo of me collecting water with Sydney and Avery. It was hard work but it was worth it.

In early September I was chosen from Highfield School attend the regional Science Fair. I was one of 20 out of 50 people chosen to go on to the next level. On Wed Sept 3rd I spent the day sitting next to my project talking to judges. I talked to about 6 judges and most people only got to talk to about two or three. At the end of the day the judges chose their favorites. I won first place in the Civil Defense category and had a Highly Commended in the Energy Efficiency category. That
Highfield School DisplayHighfield School DisplayHighfield School Display

First step - school competition
night there was a award giving and I got $50 for my first prize and $10 for the Highly Commended prize, and my project, along with 9 others, was chosen out of 300 plus to be displayed at the South Canterbury Museum for 10 days. This was nice because my grandmother got to see it when she came to visit us last week.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Regional Science FairRegional Science Fair
Regional Science Fair

At Caroline Bay Hall...after the awards!
Prize Money!!Prize Money!!
Prize Money!!

First Place and Honorable Mention
Gregg and GrahamGregg and Graham
Gregg and Graham

The boys with the project


29th September 2008

If I were shipwrecked on a desert island...
I would definitely want you to be there Graham... I'm convinced you would be able to rig up something that would keep us all drinking fresh water-- and thus ALIVE! Way to go on the science fair project. Aunt Jessica
30th September 2008

Hi! Nice project
Hey Graham, Jon here great project! I hope you had fun making it! I know I would( I guess) I'm working on a project to. It's a water filter. it's not that hard, but it is fun! I am also sending you an emailso look for that! Jonny
4th October 2008

Science Fair for Graham
Hi Graham, You did a great job writing up the blog site. It was especially fun to read after having been with you to see the project at the museum. I really liked what you created, and I'm so proud of you. Thanks again for making my visit to Timaru to special. Love, Grandma
10th November 2008

Awesome!
Cool project man! If you can find someone to mass produce your project, you could be a millionaire! Make it happen!
20th November 2008

My sister........
my sister did the exact same thing for her science fair project, how much cash did you get. Hope you had fun, miss u

Tot: 0.121s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 15; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0623s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb