One ticket to Te Anau.


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Te Anau
March 17th 2010
Published: March 19th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Today I move south from Wanaka to Te Anau, more coach travel but I think I'm getting used to it. 
The journey from Wanaka to Queenstown is uneventful, i'm picked up at my hostel door and driven through the rapidly decreasing rolling hills, past  slopes covered in vinyards again, the straight rows running off onto infinity, the vines are once more protected by fine white netting, in comparisson to yesterdays fluffy balls today is a covering of spider silk enveloping the vines like the morning dew on cornish gorse.
I have a 2 hour stop over in Queenstown before my next bus and I plan to explore the town and have a little lunch, within 30 feet of the bus I'm pleased I made the decission to stay in wanaka with it's cool chilled atmosphere, everything here is bustling, the shops selling every kind of adventure, the pavements of people travelling determindly somewhere, bikes, cars, rickshaws. I make my way to the lake, here it is less crowded the bars with outside seats are still waiting for the midday rush and only a few early bird st patrick's day revellers can be seen, black stuff in hand and green hats proudly abundant.
The lake is very different to lake wanaka, there the waters were dark and mysterious, here the shores are translucent and the lake has the fantastic turquoise hue of the medditeranian, it laps gently under the pontoon I am sitting on, confounding me into the belief that the waters are warm and that I should go for a swim. 
To escape from the sirens call I move back into the town, past the trendy shops and cafe culture to find my bus stop, when I get there my bus is waiting, curious as it shouldn't leave for an hour and a half. I speak to the driver who let's me put my bag on the bus which has some local stops to make before leaving for Te Anau. My pack is better travelled than me! 
Enlightened, I move off in search of a good lunch spot, I'm hungry but my options are open and I will go with whatever tempts me. 3 times round the town and I still haven't been tempted, but a casual glance at a pub sign shows it advertising dux delux beer, well if I can't decide what to eat I certainly know what to drink. 
The Ginger tom is yet again fantastic and it washes down the 7 dollar irsh stew special like a dream, I sit and watch the world go bustling by until it's time to leave
The trip from queenstown to te anau is hampered by the early start, starch rich lunch and 2 pints of beer and I fall asleep. 
When I arrive it is great to meet some of Robs travelling friends who are going to put me up for a couple of nights.
Richard and Ester are really nice, and it is good to see and talk to people after the solitude of travel, Thanks rob. They take me into there home, give me good advice, strong cups of tea and an instant feeling of friendship. 
They also take me out for a slap up fish and chip dinner, sold from the back of a van with a menu that includes lobster and oysters, and then finally to the pub. 
There are rumours that a girl is going to be singing and a group of friends have gathered to celebrate. I am included in this group calmly and with no fuss, there is laughter, jokes and stories all around me and for the time I am happy to sit and soak in this community. But the singer, josephine costain, starts and her haunting voice and lyrics subdue the happy crowd as all stop to listen and reflect. 
She is good, her single voice merges well with the instruments she plays and on one occasion with herself, a happy nature is evident as she chats with the crowd and the inclusion of a punter as lead tambourine enamours her to her audiance. 
Tomorrow I am going out into the fjords but for today I am happy to listen to the music and enjoy the company.  


 

Advertisement



Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.037s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb