Organising Trips!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Te Anau
March 14th 2009
Published: March 18th 2009
Edit Blog Post

WHERE HAS ALL MY MONEY GONE?!!
I had an awful nights sleep...kept waking up, going hot and cold, headaches and generally not feeling well at all!! I got up at around 7am after being wide awake for 2 hours. I went to sit in the kitchen and had some breakfast and a brew in the hope it would make me feel a little better!! It didn't! No one else was up either so I went back to the room, dressed and had a wander into town to get some fresh lake air. Always wish I was at home when I don’t feel so good. I headed back to the hostel after a while and Nat and I sat in the communal area and chilled out whilst talking about our plans for our time in Te Anau. We wanted to do Milford Sound, Doubtful Sound and some kind of trek. Lots of monies involved but everyone we spoke to advised us to do all three. We had some decisions to make!!

We headed to the library first (free internet) as Nat wanted to transfer some money and we both did a spot of blogging…delaying tactics for spending money I think!! On from the library we headed to the info centre to discuss our options. Ideally we had wanted to do an overnight cruise, a day cruise and a walk. We had also wanted to cycle to Milford Sound to do a cruise but to do so you had to pass through Homer Tunnel (a one way black tunnel) and it was apparently too dangerous for cyclists to pass through. Our only cycling option was to bike to Lake Gunn and then hitch the rest of the way. Nat didn’t want to hitch and I thought my folks would be non too happy at the thought of me hitching so a bus it would have to be!! It’s a shame how limited the cycling is. We seem to do 2 good days and then have to catch a bus before we can quite get into our stride. Oh well….not sure my legs minded the break!

Once we had gathered our information we went back to the hostel to have lunch and think on it! I still felt ill and just wanted to be in bed…not organizing and decision making! Wither way we decided and went back to the information centre to book the following:

15th - Milford Sound Day Cruise
16th - Kepler Day Trek (Just under 20 miles)
17th - Doubtful Sound Kayak Day Tour

Busy few days ahead! Glad things were booked though! Once all sorted it was around 4.30pm and we headed back to the hostel. I gave into the pain and took some paracetemol before going to bed for a couple of hours. No one offered me a cuppa though or made me a bowl of jelly like Dad would have done!! Tut!!

I felt a little better after sleep and went for tea with Nat at around 7pm. Just had a jacket potato…appetite not thriving! We then settled in the TV room and watched Troy. Such a good film…I did not want it to end and could have watched it on repeat. Made me feel a bit better anyway…Brad Pitt does seem to have that effect on women! After the film it was off to bed. I hoped I would be back to full health tomorrow for Milford!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.229s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 41; qc: 133; dbt: 0.1842s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb