Farther South and Farther Up!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Te Anau
June 30th 2007
Published: June 30th 2007
Edit Blog Post

(Bummer about our payroll- I am glad I decided not to pay any of my bills before I left 😉

10 am is still too early to meet a bus! I had to hang outside in the drizzle to wait for my "Wanaka Connexion" to Queenstown. It was this funny little shuttle that took us through beautiful mountains, along lakes. Even when it is foggy and raining in New Zealand I can't stop taking pictures! There were lots of those red bushes and orange trees along the ravines and paddocks today.

After a few delays with ice and non-existant customers, we made it to Queenstown around 12. Queenstown is AMAZING. It is a quaint and sprawling ski town along a huge lake ringed by snowcapped mountains. We had two hours to chill there before "Topline Tours" (another smaller shuttle) took us the last 3 hours to Te Anau. I had tried to stay in Queenstown, but the Winter Festival combined with school holidays made this hard, especially with my fly-by-night decision making. I went over to the i site to make bookings for the next few days, and then walked the waterfront. There was an old steam engine running, and a few older rides, and of course gorgeous views.

The ride to Te Anau was just as spectacular. I still expect Orcs and Elves and Hobbits to run across the road with the biggest fluffiest sheep I have ever seen!

They dropped me at Steamer's/LakeView complex, and I have a single/whole wing to myself. It was a 15 minute walk to the downtown to get supplies for the next few days. Tomorrow will be a late night, and an early morning following, but you'll have to wait to hear about that!

It was weird to cook pasta for myself, I'm spoiled from all this eating out! (More than usual) But it is much cheaper...the room too, $30 for a single compared to $54 for a double in Wanaka!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0353s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb