Still week 5...


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Southland » Catlins
March 19th 2007
Published: March 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Dearest Blogmeister,

Well that last entry was supposed to be short, but the internet is v cheap here so am making the most of it.

The last few days of the week were spent taking a tour of Milford Sounds (spectacular- at least it looks it on the post cards) where it rained all day. Typical. Spent what felt like a millenia on the bus, and was relieved to get off at Te Anau where I stayed for one night before joining another tour of the Caitlins which are at the very south of the south island and famous for its wildlife and rugged windswept scenery.

Had a great day (much less time on the bus), and saw sea lions, yellow eyed penguins, and petrified forests. Contemplated (for about 1 second) about sponsoring a trap, yes sponsoring a trap, so that I could protect the yellow eyed penguins. Sorry but I was not taken with the idea of reciveing yearly updates oin how many animals my trap had killed! I am not kidding. I know possums are a pest but honestly.

Stayed in Dunedin that night, and went to the cinema with M & S to see Wild Hogs. John Travolta is not aging well sadly.

The next day I spent in Dunedin. Went on a walking tour with Mr Darcy lookalike (v enjoyable), but as it started to rain midway ended up having to wear his bright red mac just to keep dry. What a gentlman (swoon), but obviously wasn't looking my most glamourous.

Had my hair cut in the afternoon, and thankfully did not need to cry and have a hissy fit afterwards., In the evening I went to see The Australian String Quartet which was fantastic. When they played Schuberts Death and the Maiden I literally felt like I was 'in' the music. Blew me away. Am definately going to be a concert cellist one day.

Fogg xx

Advertisement



2nd April 2007

Exhausted
Linds you have crammed a lot in week 5. Just to clarify was the forest petrified before you arrived or just whilst you were there? Sounds like you are having a ball.

Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0324s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1015.4kb