Arthurs Pass - Queenstown


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Queenstown
March 8th 2011
Published: March 9th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Meg Hut Meg Hut Meg Hut

I stayed here for 3 nights just relaxing
Yo,
Currently Queesntown where I intend to jump off a bridge. Hopefully I will remember to secure the bungee prior to yelling yahoo and throwing myself of a 150ft bridge. Before queenstown I spent 3 nights in a back country hut called meg's hut. It was great very relaxing and peaceful. I did my morning and arternoon meditation as well as some yoga in the afternoon. Befor that is was a very slow trip down the West Coast, where I think I averaged about 40km(25miles) a day not exactly moving at the speed of slime but I was approaching it. The West Coast was amazing full of tropical forests, waterfalls and oh yeah glaciers. However dispite all the beauty, campfires on the beach, hikes throught tropical forests ect. I think the thing I will remember the most is the sandflys. These things are relentless. I have scars, not so much from the bites but from the endless scratching and just when I thought I had scratched them enought I find myself scratching in my sleep. A few days of sever rain including a day when I woke up in 3in of water... still trying to dry my sleeping bag. But
BeautifulBeautifulBeautiful

Yeah thats right
at least I was warm. Highlights include this large piece of Jade I found on the beach, the blowholes, the amazing vegitation and of course the beach. The waves were unlike any I have seen in the past, at least five sets of white water to make it to the breakers at least 150yds out. Not like I tried to make it, I dont think I would have stood a chance, even in my prime. Not much else to say about the journey except that it is amazing, I think I will let the photos do the talking for me.

Be Happy,
Graham


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Fox GlacierFox Glacier
Fox Glacier

You can see the glacier in the distance
MeMe
Me

Hikeing to Franz-Joseph Glacier
KaykingKayking
Kayking

With Tristan
BlowholesBlowholes
Blowholes

When the waves come in they shoot water up the blowholes


Tot: 0.167s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 13; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0539s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb