Edwards - Otahaki


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Greymouth
February 23rd 2011
Published: February 23rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

ValleyValleyValley

We hicked over the mountain to find this valley. Walking through the vally we were surrounded by waterfalls.
So I have been in New Zealand for about a week now and feel like I have seen very little of this beautiful place. It looks like I might have to extend my stay. The past couple of days I have been hanging with my friend Tristan on the west Coast, a plance called Barrytown, just noth of Greymouth. My days have been filled with walks on the Beach, kayaking in the rivers, and walks in the woods. This place is truly amazing, so lush and full of life and activities.
Prior to my stay in Greymouth I traversed the southern Alps with some friends. We chose one of the harder tracks in Arthurs pass, so that we could avoid the crowds and challenge ourselves. The rangers at the park told us that three groups have attemped that track this season and only one made it through, with the help of a helocopter. Four days latter, a little tired and dirty, we emerged form the woods onto the road. What a great feeling to be one of the few people to attempt and complete that track. It was an absoluly amazing experience, with the greatest accomplishment being, overcomming our worries of
Waterfall Waterfall Waterfall

One of the waterfalls in the valley
the pending rain and the steep track ahead. Many times whe considered turning back, but pressed on, only to find that the track became more rugged and the senery more beautiful. To say that this track is overgrown would be an understatement. Every three feet was another fallen tree or river crossing. Much to our relief the rain never came and despite a few blisters we emerged victoriusly. The highlights of the route was the gorge before the Otahaki hut with its immence beauty and stunning waterfalls, and the sulpher hot springs that were very welcomed on the final night of our journey. From here I think I am going south, original plans had me returning to christchurch to meet some friends but due to the recent shake I think i will pass on that plan and just continue south.
Be Happy,
Graham


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

RiverRiver
River

So Beautiful!!!
FireFire
Fire

The last night we had a fire, it was a great feeling to have made it through


Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0359s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb