Life is beautiful


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Queenstown
January 29th 2010
Published: January 30th 2010
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Nevis bungy jump 186 secs
[youtube=yiA7ccsqWGw]
The rideThe rideThe ride

The ride up and back is along a narrow road with some incredible views.

You can’t quit until you try
You can’t live until you die


- Sixx:AM, “Life is Beautiful”

Like many kids, when I was young I would justify my actions and desires with the children’s version of relative morality - But Timmy’s dad lets him do it… And in response, my father would whip out the all-too-famous line “If Timmy jumped off a bridge would you jump, too?” I would generally be a smartass and say “Yes.” Today I finally made good on part of that remark.

The day started off with a short run through the rose gardens and along the lake. This is about the only flat area in town but the scenery remains spectacular. There were a few others out doing the same but I suspect that most of them were locals. I followed my run with some pushups, pull-ups and chin-ups at a jungle gym along the lake. This was refreshing but the real highlight of the day would start shortly thereafter.

I went down to the front desk around 10:00 to check on today’s availability for some of the activities I wanted to do. I told the guy working that I’m thinking about doing Nevis. He looked at me sternly and said “No. You are
Jump platformJump platformJump platform

The jump platform is suspended by cables that extend from one mountain to another.
doing Nevis.” It was settled.

One of the girls that was working with him scheduled my trip to Nevis to do my first bungy jump. But not just any jump - allegedly the highest in the southern hemisphere at 134 meters (440 feet). Why start small?

I got checked in at a nearby center called The Station, where we left from later this morning. There were six of us on the way out, one guy that skydives and bungy jumps frequently, a couple Swedish guys that were doing their first jumps and a couple from Australia; the guy was a novice but the girl, the lone female in the group, had done one once before in Austria.

The ride out lasted about 45 minutes, winding through the numerous mountains and rivers. About halfway along we passed Kawarau Bridge, the site of the first bungy jump. Along the way I listened to my iPod, getting psyched up with the likes of Breaking Benjamins, Godsmack, Foo Fighters, Slipknot and Sixx:AM, to name a few. As we got closer and closer, I got more and more excited.

We reached the base of one of the mountains and turned up
My jump groupMy jump groupMy jump group

My group on the way to the cable car.
the steep path. It was just wide enough to hold the small bus. A few too many people on the left side might have made the bus tumble down the mountain. As we continued to climb, the excitement turned to a mix of exhilaration and apprehension. Slipknot played in my ears - “All I’ve got is insane”. That sounds about right.

We arrived, put everything but our cameras in some lockers and got strapped up. As we walked down to the viewing platform, one-by-one, tension mounted. Nervous jokes and wisecracks were abound but the tension was evident. In the background, we heard a loud scream as someone did his drop. Then another. And another.

A cable car with four guys returned from the jumping platform, a little hut suspended by wires hundreds of feet above the river below. They got out and unhooked. It was our turn.

Each of us hooked our lines to the cable car (in case we fall out) and stepped in. The car slowly crept towards the jumping platform, with nothing but a long drop below us.

We got to the jumping platform, stepped out and unhooked. Inside were the jump master
Hook upHook upHook up

Hooking our lines in the cable car. Just in case anyone falls out.
and a member of the crew, along with two or three other jumpers.

The base of the platform was mostly wood but in the middle was a one-foot wide sheet of plexiglass. No one stepped on this, like a pitcher skipping over the first base line on his way back to the dugout. The views below were surreal; and borderline frightening.

Each of us hopped up onto a seating area made of plexiglass where we awaited further instruction. As we got strapped up with foot collars, one of the other jumpers went. As the cord absorbed the fall the platform shook, startling us. It all became a bit more real.

It was now time for our group to go. Several different cords can be used depending on the jumper’s bodyweight. Because of this we went from heaviest to lightest. The experienced jumper was the largest and went first, returning a minute or two later. Then the novice guy from Australia. Then me.

I strapped my body wire to one on the jump side of the platform and took a seat in what looked like a modified barber’s chair. My legs propped up, a member of the
Looking downLooking downLooking down

You can't help but look down. This adds to the experience.
crew took me through final instructions. “On your second upward move, pull the red strap out from your ankle collar and yank hard outwards. This will release your feet so you can come back up seated instead of upside down. It’s only the feet so there’s no way this will release the bungy.” Roger that.

It was time. She had me do something for the camera. That something turned out to be a shout of excitement masked in the form of a little girl’s shriek. My attempt to be cool failed miserably. Waddling my way slowly out to the dive with the ankle cuffs hindering my movement, the tension continued to mount. My sunburned face would not have looked much different had it not been burned. It’s simple. All you do is dive. Gravity will take care of the rest.

The crewmember, just behind me, gave me my last instructions.

“Head up so the camera can see you.”

Let's do this.

“Make sure you swan dive so you don’t get whiplash.”

Got it. Can I please just go?

“Three… Two…”

Legs bending; squatting down.

“One… GO!”

I sprung from the
Strapping inStrapping inStrapping in

The crew works on the foot straps for someone in our group.
board, arms outstretched; the ground below staring me in the face with a wicked scowl. “OH SHIIIIIIIIIIIT!!!”

Less than a moment later I felt the cord tense. My body continued towards the ground, decelerating along the way. I don’t even know how close I got to the ground - maybe 50 feet away.

The cord sprung backwards and I ascended upwards for several seconds towards the platform. It was at this point that euphoria from the build up and the release of anxiety finally left and I regained a sound mind. I dropped again and on the second upward movement bent at the waist and pulled on the red cord. Several times. Nothing. I continued to work it. Still nothing. I returned to the tower half upright as I held myself up with my midsection.

As I got back to the tower I wondered just how they would get me turned around. The jump master pulled the cord hard several times and it finally released, turning me over properly. I noted that I was the dumbass that couldn’t get his cord undone.

The rush was still there as the group would greet each returning jumper with
In the barber chairIn the barber chairIn the barber chair

All strapped in and ready to go.
elation. My entire body and spirit would remain in a state of nirvana for several hours.

The two Swedish guys went and then it was time for the Aussie girl, who had bungied before, to go. As she sat in the barber chair, she had a look of terror on her face that could have won her an Oscar. Her boyfriend and I chatted her up to keep her calm. She proceeded to the board and, like every member of our group, took off on “Go”.

Our bodies still wired, we took the cable car back. At the shop, we each reviewed our pictures and videos and I think everyone purchased them.

The ride back down took us along the same narrow path but again provided us with great views of the surrounding area. Each of us unwound in our own little way, me with my iPod. We stopped at the Kawarau Bridge site to pick up some other jumpers. One older couple got on and the driver announced that this was the man’s 110th jump.

The anticipation, masked as fear, its sudden release and the exhilaration of the mind’s liberation from body during freefall are
Ready to goReady to goReady to go

Three... two... one...
virtually unparalleled. The only similar experience I’ve had is skydiving. The anxiety buildup and its sudden release are very similar as you await the unknown. How will I react? Will I be able to get myself off or out? Will I freeze?

But that’s where the similarity ends. The freefall lasts about eight seconds, far less than the minute in a typical skydive. And the jump and return are over in no time. For the pure adrenalin rush, bungy wins. But I’ll take skydiving. There’s no substitute for the loss of mind, the exhilaration of a long fall and the purest state of peace under the canopy. Nevertheless, to paraphrase what the guy at the front desk told me on bungy, you must do it; even as I recount the tale my heartbeat races.

When we got back to town, I followed up my jump with the customary burger and beer from Ferg’s. Ferg’s again was fantastic.

Back at the hostel, I ran into Mel and we watched my video from the day. She had done the Kawarau Bridge jump and relived hers through mine. Even having done one before and knowing what to expect, she still
JumpJumpJump

Just off the platform.
tensed up as I got closer to the edge. I could feel her emotional release as she watched me plunge. A very special and everlasting bond is shared by everyone who has ever done anything like this; no matter where or when it was done.

The two of us took off to meet a bunch of others outside at a free rock concert benefiting the victims of the Haiti earthquakes. Later on, we all went out to Winnie’s, the first bar from last night.

I had a pretty incredible day today, naturally highlighted by the jump. I can’t say I do these things solely for the rush - I’m not the stereotypical adrenalin junky. It’s the challenge that excites me. The value derived from the courage to face a fear is immeasurable and is one of the finest character builders around.

I’ll be in Queenstown for a few more days. I like it so much I extended my stay to February 3.



Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

FallingFalling
Falling

The view from below.
Another viewAnother view
Another view

My jump from above.
Back up topBack up top
Back up top

And still upside down.
Kawarau BridgeKawarau Bridge
Kawarau Bridge

The site of the first bungy jump.
ConcertConcert
Concert

The crowd at the free concert.


Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 6; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0554s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb