My kind of town, Queenstown is


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Queenstown
January 28th 2010
Published: January 29th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Lake WakatipuLake WakatipuLake Wakatipu

The breathtaking lake that sits in the heart of Queenstown.
I departed my Auckland hostel this morning just after 5:00 am to catch my flight to Queenstown. The bus trip out to the airport went smoothly, getting me to the airport an hour before my flight. In the US this would be cutting it a bit close since I’m checking my backpack but here it was very early. The check-in was all automated, with dozens of stations where people can get their boarding passes and give bag counts. Then, instead of having an attendant that takes the bag and applies the bag tag, you put your own tag on and place it on a conveyor. What an easy process.

The security process was also a bit different, too. Instead of going through security as soon as you complete the check-in, they call people to the security line based on when a flight is ready to leave. So instead of an enormous line with people who have flights departing anywhere from the next 20 minutes to two hours or more later, it’s just a short line and is almost an extension of boarding the plane. Again, this was incredibly easy.

The strangest thing along the way was that at no
PlanePlanePlane

We disembarked outside after landing between multiple mountains.
point did anyone check my ID. Not at the check-in station. Not at the baggage conveyor belt. Not even at the security line or when boarding the plane.

At two hours, the flight itself was a lot quicker than the last few I took. Along the way I watched some British miniseries called Occupation, covering the occupation of Iraq by British and American forces. I’ll have to try and find this when I get home.

I grabbed the bus at the airport that goes straight to town. Like the landing, the ride was incredibly scenic, with mountains, lakes and crystal clear sky everywhere.

The beauty is part of the reason why I had come to Queenstown. And there’s much more scenery to be found in the (relatively) close by fiords which I’ll go see. But the real reason is that Queenstown is the world’s hub for adventure sports. That’s what I’m really excited about.

The bus dropped me off within a couple blocks of the hostel. Although that would probably go for a dropoff anywhere in town - it’s really a very compact town.

The hostel is one of many in Queenstown, a renowned backpacker
TownTownTown

Shops along one of the town's streets.
town. This one, called Nomads, is a bit of a larger one with lots (or “heaps” to use the local vernacular) of activities, common area space and staffers on hand to help out with all there is to do outside of town.

Since I was here early I stored my bags and walked around town until my room would be ready at 2:00. I walked up and down the various shop and bar lined streets, going into each of the numerous outdoors shops. Towards the end of my walk I came upon Ferg’s (pronounced like Phoag and rhymes with rogue) Burgers, a place that the customs lady in Auckland said I should go. The minty lamb burger I had with an aioli sauce was outstanding. It’s up there with some of the best burgers I’ve eaten. And I washed it down with a South New Zealand brew called Speight’s (also good).

It was almost time for check-in so I walked back along the lake towards the hostel. The lake is one of the most impressive panoramas I’ve seen, with mountains splashing directly into the crystal clear waters below. It is every bit as majestic as Lake Como in
BoardwalkBoardwalkBoardwalk

A section of the boardwalk near where I had a beer with the girls later on.
Italy and Lucerne, Switzerland.

On the rock beach, a film crew was shooting a movie that I later learned was for Bollywood (Indian cinema).

I checked into my hostel and met some of my new roommates, including Mel from Cambridge, James and Charlie from other parts of England and Becky and Frank from Australia (I think).

I decided to go exploring some more and, after wisely putting on some sunscreen, went out to walk around the nearby rose garden and accompanying park. The rose garden was lacking but something else caught my attention. As I walked along a path, I noticed these strange looking poles with a metal basket halfway up and chains hanging from the top. I then realized there was a Frolf course set up around the perimeter. A bunch of people were playing but I wasn’t invited like George Costanza. Though given that was from the Summer of George episode it’s best I didn’t do anything to jeopardize the Endless Summer of Hurst.

I then took off to the other side of town and decided to try and hike up the one hill to where the gondolas go. I started out around 5:30. By 5:45 the
Bollywood filmBollywood filmBollywood film

Shooting a scene for a Bollywood movie.
idiot inside me emerged and convinced me to take a shortcut up. By 6:00 I wasn’t seeing any trail and continuing up more would have required rock climbing skills.

So I thought it best I bail, amusing myself with Bear Grylls impressions on the way down. (In my best British accent) “Caught in the wild with forest darkness emerging, no water, food, shelter, warm clothes or commando know-how is no place to be.”

When I got back down, I ran into Mel and two other girls from the hostel, Cat (a Canadian) and Tal from Israel. I went with them to grab a beer while they drank coffee. Afterwards, Tal and I walked out to a supermarket to pick up dinner and beer for later on. Not in the backpacking handbook, I went with a piece of salmon and a salad, which one Aussie later referred to me “having a proper meal”.

I walked around a bit more, watching a bit of the Australian Open and taking in the late sunset. When I got back to the hostel, I joined Mel, Cat and James for a night out on the town. James and I went to a
Ferg'sFerg'sFerg's

Inside Ferg's Burgers.
place called Winnie’s and had a round and then met Mel and Cat at World Bar. Both are big backpacker spots and a lot of fun.

I left after 1:00 to head back and James followed shortly thereafter. Cat and Mel made their way in much later. We have no idea what time. All us guys know is it was late. And Mel sprayed Charlie with water.

Tomorrow I’m still in Queenstown and will be venturing out on something incredible.



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Ferg'sFerg's
Ferg's

My burger and beer at Ferg's.
FrolfFrolf
Frolf

Some guys playing frolf.
SunsetSunset
Sunset

The lake when the sun set around 9:30.


29th January 2010

BE CAREFUL!!!!!!!!!!!!!
12th February 2010

RE: Trading Places
I'll crunch some numbers and figure out what it will take me to make that deal. I trust it won't be a low figure.

Tot: 0.172s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 62; dbt: 0.1123s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb