The Nevis Highwire Bungy


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Queenstown
April 17th 2008
Published: April 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Day 25 - Queenstown

Up early today as it is the dreaded day of the bungy....not any old bungy but the highest in NZ at 134 metres. Once we had checked in at 10am a brief wait saw the nerves grow until the bus arrived to take us to the venue. Once in the little bus we drove to a sheep station in the middle of nowhere and by this time my nerves were really beginning to set in and my finger nails were growing shorter by the minute. The drive takes you up an extremely steep incline until at the top you see where the jump will happen. It is basically a cable between a canyon with a metal shed hanging in the middle and a trolley to take you to the shed where the plummeting will happen. While getting the harness on prior to getting in the trolley my sweats began. Once clipped into the trolley we journeyed along the cable to the shed where everyone prepared for the jump. As your hanging in the air the shed is rocking and shaking and added to my the feeling of sickness that was growing in my stomach, I began to feel a little nervous and watching others jump wasn't helping. Soon the time had come, my mouth was dry, I was a little shaky, I wondered why the hell I'm I here and what in god's name persuaded me to do this............and I wasn't even jumping! I was was just taking the pictures! Over to Kit for his thoughts on jump as he was the one doing it. Kit says “Weeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee” In truth it was amazing experience and not to scary being the spectator though how Kit wasn't even a bit nervous at the idea of it I will never know!

Advertisement



27th April 2008

Bungie
Sheeeeeesh - I'm with you Lisa, you wouldn't catch me doing that! I think you are brave just going on that shaky platform.... things you do for love! Kit must get his stupidity.... er, I mean bravery from his Dad!
27th April 2008

weeeeeeeeeeee
Kit, where's the Dam, 007 !!!! and is this the reason the laundry had to be done.

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0497s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb