new country and new challenges.....including making time to write a blog....


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Queenstown
March 19th 2008
Published: March 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well Its been a fair few months since I wrote last and things just keep getting better and better and the bank statements keeps on going higher and higher into my over draft!! Leavinf Mexico was very hard...tears were shared and parties were made. I threw a party in the orphanage for all of the kids which was very emotional although everyone seemed to enjoy the food and music and it was a nice evening for all the children. I was bombarded by little letters letting me know how much I would be missed and little presents eventhough they did not have alot to give. Went to Mazamitla with a large group of friends also to say goodbyw which was an eventful weekend also involving tears but this time a little too much alcohol was involved too. All in good spirit as I have a feeling it wont be the last time I see the majority of my friends over in Mexico. A couple are planning to come over to England to visit and I hope hope hope sometime in the near future I will be able to return to see evryone again.
After an agonising 3days of travel we arrived in New Zealand. We spent a week in Aukland after finally deciding how we were going to get around New Zealand after eharing about a 2 for 1 offer on the Magic BUs. ONe of the tamest tour companies but a half price holiday is a half price holiday!! OUr first stop was Roturura but we stopped at the Waitomo Caves on the way which involved black water rafting whilst spotting for glow worms. Glow worms weren;t hard to spot as they were the only light in the deep caves other than the small torch on the top of our helmets...although I have to say black water rafting was NOT what I was expecting. Instead of a boat we were all given our own rubber rings and there was a mixture of walking swimming and crawling through caves. My slight claustrophobia was put to the test as we had to squirm through a tiny hole to get to a secret waterfall. I do literally mean squirm as the passage was not large enough to crawl through. Not everyone partook in this little adventure but I thought it was a must do. We also got to jump off a waterfall backwards in our rubber rings which was great fun although a little daunting as I was the first one to do it. Back to the hostel for a SERIOUS sleep after an advernutrous day and not alot of sleep in aukland.
Next stop was Taupo which meant ski diving which was THE MOST AMAZING THING OF MY LIFE!!!!! no joke I have definitly got the bug and if it wasnt due to the obsene costs I would be doing one daily!! Also visited the hot springs in Taupo and the bubbling mud pools..followed again but some very late nights and a toga party.....
Taupo then lead onto wellington where there were thankfully (for my bank statement) no adrenaline junkie sports to be had. They do have an amazing museum though called Te Papa and a good night life so I was kept interested for a fair few days. THen we were onto the South Island and after a quick stop off in Picton we headed down to Nelson which was our base for going to able tasman national park. The National Park was sublime...mountains...sandy beaces...seals....AMAZING! WE decided to do the two day kayak and treck to get around starting off with a 5hour treck on the first day through the National Park. The treck was un-guided so thankfully for Tasha and I it was almost just a straight path so we didnt get too lost. We were attacked by bees and sandflys however which wasn't good. We stayed on the Aqua lodge that night which was really good althoug on the boat the bunks were a bit high meaning that alot of head bumping was to be had after a tasty bbq and rather a serious game of monopoly. The second day meant sea kayaking which was hard work!!! As there was no current to help you along unless you watned to end up in the rocks. Did see a seal colony though which was fantastic.
Am about to run out of time though I'm afraid. WIll catch you up to date tommorrow....still alot of fun filled adventures to talk about includins my BUNGY and white water rating....etc..... hope you are all well and if you post you email adresses I will send you a link for my pictures on facebook as you can see the pictures without actually joining it. love to all.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.305s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 8; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0819s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb