Yes I AM still alive!


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Jalisco » Cuidad Guzman
January 10th 2008
Published: January 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Just thought I'd let you all know that I AM still alive although I have been a complete cop out on making blogs. I would try and make an excuse about how I haven't been able to make it to a computer but the truth is I have just been having such an amazing time I haven't taken the time out to write to you all back home...which is wrong but it's the truth. Well, alot has happened since I last wrote. Mainly drunken debouchery mixed in with working with some of the most amazing kids I've met in my life. Christmas was a very different experience and not something I was looking forward to, but thanks to one of my best friends (Claudia) it was made more than bareable!. I spent almost a week in Guadalajara with all of her family as all the children had gone on holidays with foster parents or parents. Shopping and experiencing the first decent nightclubs since arriving in MExico. OUt here, they celebrate Christmas eve more than Christmas day so on the 24th (after a long hard days shopping.....no seriously I dont think I've ever been shopping in such a heat before) we sat down for a family meal with all her fathers brothers and sisters and all her cousins. After eating we went to my Mexican Mummy's sisters house where she tried to force feed us yet another meal and we passed midnight there....alot of hugging and welcoming to the family...etc...etc. When we reutned back to the other house we played normal party games such as charades before the card games started. You'd think that as all the family was together it would just be a normal game of 21 buuut we are in mexico so it had to have a bit of a Mexican twist...which was the loser had to take a tequila shot. It was hilarious playing this with all the family as I turned out to be a bit of a card shark at 21 and got to watch my whole mexican family gradually getting more and more drunk. We all exchanged presents before going to bed at a respectable 3 o clock which was late/early enough for me to give my real mummy a quick call to wish her Happy CHristmas. Woke up on Christmas Day to haev beakfast with the whole family before heading back to Guzman. Later that day I met up with the whole ganf (minus Claudia who staye din Guadalajara) and we went drinking down by the laguna (lagoon...pretty easy to translate but just to clarify) which was not how I ever expected to pass a christmas. With no children there was not alot for me to do over the holidays so i kept myself busy by going out with friends. I can't believe how much i missed the company of some of the kids though....I had noone to play with 😞. Went down to Colima one day with a friend and her boyfriend and we spent the day by a lake....swimming and drinking and eating...before going to another Toro type event watching people ride bulls and then to a nightclub. The whole day was filled with Banda (typical mexican music) which I hate but have learned to love at the same time and I will miss it greatly when I leave.
Then New Year Rolled along....now this wasnt how I was expecting it either. After weeks and weeks about talking about going to the beach my friends finally copped out on the day....dissapointment. We the ended up passing new years in a petrol station as we needed to stop for gas which is hilarious. But it did signify that no matter what I would be spending this year with all my closest friends around me. We then went to my friends ranch and drank....alot before having a major heart to heart. It really meant alot to me eventhough it wasnt what I was expecting as I realised I really do have some true friends here and I will be missed when I leave.
My playmates finally came back on sunday (6th) so I am now trying to get back into the routine of waking up at 6olclock again..... But I am glad to have them back and can't belive how quickly time has flown by. I only have a matter of weeks left here in the orphanage and I intend to make the most of them. I'm already planning my leaving party fr the children and I hope that I have made as much of an impact on there past few months as they have on mine. Dare I say it but I think i may actually like children now... Before I leave I also intend to go back to Mazamitla for the weekend for my leaving party with my friends as I enjoyed myself so much there and it will mean we spend my last weekend all together. I am also hoping to go to Puerta Vallarta for a bit of tourism and a beach (Not that that will be lacking as soon as i get to aus). And that is about all really. Not looking forward to leaving and will definitly be coming back (pleeeeeeeeeeeeease daddy darling sweetheart with sugar on top....I mean it would be a waste for me not to come back after all the hard work I've done).
Hope everyone is well at home and relieved to find out Im still alive....no I'm better than alive...I'm ahving the time of my life!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.206s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0374s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb