Summer in Queenstown...


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Queenstown
February 17th 2008
Published: February 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Canyoning.co.nzCanyoning.co.nzCanyoning.co.nz

Seb's canyoning company... He got me on a full-day trip to the Routeburn Canyon for free. One of the numerous benefits of having a canyoning guide for a flatmate...
Hello everyone! Just a quick update on things here before a slew of pics from an incredible summer spent in Queenstown…

One week left. ONE WEEK! I cant believe it! Its crazy- on the one hand, I feel like my time here has gone by so quickly, while on the other, I feel like I’ve been in Queenstown for FOREVER. Keep in mind that I was supposed to have left last November, but due to circumstances with Cory and everything else, decided to stay on. Spending the summer in Queenstown has worked out better than I could have imagined. It is an amazing place in the summertime. It is an amazing place in general… But now, things are drawing to a close. I still don’t think it has really set in that I will be leaving Queenstown in a week- that probably wont happen until I’m trying to sort out what to pack and what to leave out for Phase II of the Expedition. Wow, will THAT be a task… Luckily, I’ve got a fraternity brother that is currently living and working in Sydney who has been gracious enough to agree to watch over some of my belongings while I’m
Crossing the River...Crossing the River...Crossing the River...

To get to the start of the canyon, we had to cross the river and then hike the first 30 minutes of the Routeburn Track...
traipsing around SE Asia and China… Having lived in Queenstown for the past 8 months, I have WAY TOO MUCH stuff to carry it all around on my back for 4 months. If you asked my sisters, they would tell you I left home with WAY TOO MUCH stuff to begin with… They would be right. Anyway, the rest of this week will be spent taking care of the last odds and ends before checking out of the flat next Monday. Filing tax returns, finalizing travel plans for Phase II, cleaning the flat top to bottom, backing up my computer and video camera, sorting what to pack, and planning my trip from Queenstown through the North Island and up to Auckland. There’s still HEAPS to see and do here in NZ before I fly to Bangkok on March 20th- got to get as much in as I can! Needless to say, the next several days are going to be full on and probably not too much fun, but its all good. I’m really excited to get Phase II underway, realize that it is time to move on from Queenstown, and am looking forward to continuing the Expedition and the adventures
Here we go!Here we go!Here we go!

First slide- 5 meters, backwards, head first. Nothing like something easy to get the trip underway...
that will bring. I don’t think I’m ready to put a summary on my time here in Queenstown yet, nor do I really have time to right now with the ever-expanding list of the hundreds of other things I need to be attending to before next Tuesday. Eventually though… Speaking of The List, its time I got back to it…

On to the pics… I tried to pick out just a couple of shots from everything that I’ve done this summer, but even then still ended up with close to 100 pics in one post. I tried to trim it back a bit, but still, I think these will give you a good idea of what I’ve been up to. It has been amazing!



Additional photos below
Photos: 85, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

WOW...WOW...
WOW...

Now thats COLD...
Soaking it upSoaking it up
Soaking it up

Inside the Routeburn Canyon...
Here comes the professional...Here comes the professional...
Here comes the professional...

Just another day at the office for Sebastian...
Smile!Smile!
Smile!

Our canyoning group
Just hanging out...Just hanging out...
Just hanging out...

At the end of the zipline into in the Big Room- Routeburn Canyon
Hold onto your hats...Hold onto your hats...
Hold onto your hats...

About to be dropped into the pool below...
Thats a wrap...Thats a wrap...
Thats a wrap...

Just finishing up the trip. Time for a coffee, tea- anything WARM!
7s Rugby...7s Rugby...
7s Rugby...

Queenstown hosts the National 7s Rugby tournament every year- people come from all over NZ to support thier local 7s team. It is quite a scene, truth be told...
The Haka...The Haka...
The Haka...

Not as cool as when the All Blacks do it befoe they play, but still, Maori war chants are intimidating anytime, anywhere...
Clouds...Clouds...
Clouds...

Not sure what was going on that day, but there were some realy funky cloud formations all day long...
A 7s Line-out...A 7s Line-out...
A 7s Line-out...

The tournament lasts 2 days, with pool play on Saturday and the knock-out rounds on Sunday. 7s Rugby from 11am to 8pm both days. Insane, I know. I only went on Sat.
Making a ruck...Making a ruck...
Making a ruck...

Eventual champ Auckland (Black jerseys)taking on the boys from Otago...
Having a pint at Monty's...Having a pint at Monty's...
Having a pint at Monty's...

My favorite pub in Queenstown...
Luck of the Irish...Luck of the Irish...
Luck of the Irish...

Hanging ot wth Mebh and JP. Good craic, those two...
Lake Rere Track TrailheadLake Rere Track Trailhead
Lake Rere Track Trailhead

Fede, Nico, and I took a day to do the Lake Rere track, which is 5-6 hour circuit around Lake Rere, located about an hour and a half out of Queenstown.
Middle Earth...Middle Earth...
Middle Earth...

Various scenes fron the Lord of the Rings movies were shot in this area.


Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 11; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0606s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb