Greymouth -> Queenstown


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Queenstown
January 24th 2008
Published: January 24th 2008
Edit Blog Post

First stop after Greymouth, Franz Joseph glacier. I took the half day glacier hike which was really cool. Never been on a glacier before and it was surprising that it wasn't too cold!

So far I have been in small towns in the mountains. It's really quite and peaceful. Very good place to get away from the city and relax. The fire alarm system in these towns is interesting. To alert the fireman (who is in the town) a siren goes off so he can come to the fire station. Or that's what I have gathered. A siren went off 4 am and I thought there is a avalanche and it's time to evacuate...

N.Z is a really beautiful country. Mirror lakes to small towns in a valley. The scenery changes dramatically in relatively short distances. I am now in Queenstown, which is meant to be a small version of Wanaka without the bungee jump. Talking of bungee jump, we have seen few people from our bus throwing themselves over a bridge but I didn't want to do it at the time. There are plenty of interesting adventure sports here apart from the usual skydiving and bungee.

My highlight of the trip so far has to be the visit to Milford Sound fjord. There was some amazing scenery and some gigantic mountains on the sea inlet. I am really enjoying the scenery and I've meant some nice people. I'll probably stay in Queenstown a little longer.




Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement



Tot: 0.185s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 19; qc: 80; dbt: 0.0754s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb