New Zealand! Christchurch -> Greymouth


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Christchurch
January 20th 2008
Published: January 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Chirstchurch



I was staying at the Jailhouse... accommodation. This is the hostel in Christchurch and it has a lot of character. It's actually a real jail converted into a hostel.

Taking the taxi from Christchurch to the hostel, it felt like I am back in England. The similar houses, the sound the cars passing by on the road, street names, cricket fields and even breathing the fresh chilled air! It was cold and what a change arriving from hot, sunny and humid Cairns!

The next day I went to the city center. I knew NZ was a British Colony but didn't expect it to be so similar to England! I mean Oz is so different. Even the climate so far, it feels like I am back in England. I found it bizarre that after travelling half way around the world, I am back in a city which is so similar. Took a walk to the Cathedral Square and Avon river. Canterbury Museum was really interesting and had a history on NZ settlement. I enjoyed the day in Christchurch in the sun. A pleasent day in the city, listening to music feeling like I am back home.

Tranzalpine

Train

I have now started travelling around N.Z and we took a scenic ride on the Tranzapline train. My first sights of N.Z country. I am now in Greymouth, a small town and nothing much to do. So I am relaxing in the hostel and looking forward to the Glaciers!


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.238s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 20; qc: 81; dbt: 0.0854s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb