Drinking... erm... yes


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Queenstown
October 8th 2007
Published: October 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Ok, so as it turns out I am fully capable of drinking stupid amounts of alcohol and not being sick... with no food, other than a desperate batch of cheesy chips when we got back.

Yes, Rugby was on, England vs Australia... we were planning on playing cards till the game started, in the early hours of the morning... after 10 beers we got restless and agreed amongst the 3 of us that town was a lot more appealing than sitting round a round table playing cards and drinking bottled beer. Strange how alcohole swings everyones judgement isnt it.

Anyway we downed the beers we just drank and jumped in the taxi... what you think we are going... sorry, thing we were going to actually walk into town? ha ha ha, ok so we get into town and realise the touristy places, you know those pubs during the day that look half decent, they were dead so it was to the other side of town, chance to get money from the ATM and have a smoke. So Kevin, the host who likes us because we buy him beer, decided to take us for a few warm up beers... yes I know you think we realistically should have been warmed up from the cards and that... yeah right, we needed more. Pint after pint later, realistically (repeat of word in second sentance... oops) we possibly had 12 pints before we hit the slightly harder stuff. Right now I tried some drinks that erm... lets say when sober I would have ran if they were put infront of me. Lets say its the fear of the great unknown... I dont know, it was odd... Anyway spirits time, still early, no game on for hours... 3 hours till kick-off. So we are hitting the Bourben and coke, like I know how to spell it. I think its a whisky... not sure. Doubles, about 5 or 6 of those one after the other then off to another place. Ross has his round and spoils us with a pitcher of beer, thats 2 pints each really. Half way through the pitcher Kevin pitches up with a "teapot"... ok this is new to me so bare with me. A teapot... not with tea... that would just be silly. No this thing was filled up with a concoction of spirits... 4 or 5 shots each from it, one after the other after the other... no stopping, we were on a roll. Still miles from the rugby... watching the time though, couldnt miss the match. From one place to the next, back to beers... more of those bourben and cokes, thing is everytime I bought them the lady behind the bar told me it was 2 for $8, thats under 4 pounds. So I got 4. Downed the first one and took the others to them... how kind am I?

So after being told I cant dance for shit... not like I really cared, I was a little wooooozy... in a good sort of "are these legs mine? why wont they listen" kind of way. So I kept on dancing and erm... lost sight of Ross... not that I needed to worry I just did, I worry no matter my state of being and or mind. Anyway after a while he reappears saying he wants to go home cause he was tired. Now I didnt understand at the time but it made sense in the taxi. We had been smoking like chimneys with all the booze and the guy had run out. So he had left the little ally we were in to find smokes. And then proceeded to get slightly lost trying to find us again. In hindsight its easy to find but we were all slightly drunk.

Oh crap I forgot about the game, watched it in a pub filled with english and SA people, oh and a few aussies... Loved the atmosphere and the beer went down well in front of the fire. SUPERB GAME.

Anyway we returned early in the morning, sun was rising, however we had another game to watch. This went on and I went out like a light. I was dead to the world and wouldnt wake up for anyone. ha ha ha

All is good, feeling up for another adventure. However its time to sign off, speak to you all soon. Keep safe, sending all my love.

PS: Sorry Sharon, ran out of time for your abv section. :o) xxx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0461s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1015.8kb