Skiing on the Remarkables


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Queenstown
October 3rd 2007
Published: October 3rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hello hello and hello everyone

Well what a lovely day, still feeling a tad warm from it. Might have caught a little snow related sun on my face too. ooooh...

Anyway we woke up today with skiing in mind... yes there has been snow, over 20cm on the slope we visited. It was really cool. Duh... anyway we left it a little late after hiring our gear, I opted for the snowblades... much better on the fun scale that skiing and well the season isnt open long enough for us to try out the snow boarding side of things. pity but hey.

We get everything, blades, trousers jacket snow chains etc... clearly I didnt have skiing in mind when I packed my bags. Anyway we got everything and jumped into the car for the drive to the base camp. Very much full of beans. After a short drive we got to the gate at the bottom and proceeded to head on up. No chains needed... out trusty Shiela, Dorris, Betty... not sure on her name it changes all the time. She did a good job of being overtaken by hefty powerful 4x4's, did her fair share of slipping and sliding from side to side on the hair pin bends... Right keep in mind there is a sheer drop with no barriers on this dirt road leading to the top... the smile on my face was IMMENSELY HUGE!!! Well in short we got to the top... well the base camp, people shouting hollering and waving ski and snowboard hand signals at our little beast upon entry. All good though, hell if they didnt like it we would have been pummeled with snow. Ok so I overexadurated slightly, we had a lot of smiles and the occasional hand gesture of "Kudo's boys". So we park up, we havent even started getting out boots on and already we have people walking past the car commenting us on the paint job. ha ha ha ha ha. Blatently taking the piss but hey we took it as a compliment.

Right boots on, jackets on, skii's in hand, car locked... and we hit the slope. Well the baby one, got to get used to it first you know, its been a while. After 2 runs on there we decided, well agreed to try the green slope. I have to admit I was a little low on the energy thing because like a true plonker forgot to eat, I blame my somewhat severe lack of co-ordination for this. Well after a few runs we popped in for a coke and some "hot" chips... which by the time we clambered outside were cold. Feeling better we hit the slopes again and I can safely say I felt so much better. Full of energy and ready for it. Oh yes... we... Ross and I wore an additional warm layer under our ski jacket... bad idea, we were sweating profusely... ha ha ha, did we do anything about it? No... we just went higher. Yes, we hit a blue slope, slightly more technically advanced than the green we were on. This is where the falling happened. Ross was first to go, then again he was always ahead of me as I was the one taking my time and or trying not to fall. His fall was good, I caught it out the corner of my eye, cartwheel and gambole loosing a ski in the process. I went to help him and like a trooper fell too. heh heh heh. After recomposing myself I grabbed his ski and edged down to him. Well it was a mutual effort. After what seemed like ages he finally got the ski attached to his foot again and off we went, only to fall again. My sun glasses kept on falling off. No worries, blew the snow off them and carried on, blurry and everything. I guess thats what skiing whilst drunk would look like.

After that we headed back to the car, content with an afternoons skiing and looking forward to tomorrow. Oh yes, those roads I was on about, great fun on the way down... ha ha ha, overtook a few other cars and a van filled with some rather jolly folk cheering our colourful motor on. heh heh heh

Oh yes, took a cruise over to Coronet Peak, its closed but the views are stunning, another fun filled drive.

More skiing tomorrow, early day, catch up with everyone then, sending all my love to all out there not to forget my contageously sexy smile. ha ha ha ha ha


Sharon... your abbreviated version as a lady of your caliber has little time to read such lengthly stories... :o)
Slight touch of snow reflected sun on my face
20cm's of snow on the mountains
Ross on ski's
Me on snowblades (short ski's)
Equipment rented we jumped in the car
Slow drive up, overtaken by a few powerful 4x4's
No barriers on dirt road, sheer drop down the valley
Got to top, fellow slopies liked the car
Numerous compliments on paint job
Not sure if taking the piss... didnt care
Got on slopes
Hit baby slope to get bearings
After 2 times headed for the green slope (beginners)
Hadnt eaten so no co-ordination
Did green slope a few times
Grabbed coke and cold "hot" chips
Back on green slope
Jumped on blue slope
Blue slope slightly more advanced
Falling happened
Ross fell, cartwheel and gamboll a few times
He lost a ski
Went to help him and fell over
Eventually got his ski on and off we went
Sun glasses fell off a few times
Blury vision used, must be what snowing drunk looks like
Back to the car, undressed
Drink and apple
Jumped in and cruised home
Overtaking people, vans of people too
Went for drive to Coronet Peak, slope closed, good views
Headed home
Got bug going again tomorrow
Chat soon babes xxx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0398s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb