Moving On!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Queenstown
August 19th 2007
Published: August 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well I left Dunedin this afternoon after a long morning. There was one specific thing I wanted to do before I left Dunedin today, so I left the hostel by 8am to be sure I had time to do it. Well, forgetting it was Sunday, the buses don't run that early so I had to walk. I was heading over to Baldwin Street, which is the steepest street in the world. In the WORLD! Gotta be huge... cause I've seen steep. So I thought that was kinda neat and I'd check it out before I left. I had to check out of the hostel by 10am, so that left me 2 hours to do it. Plenty of time if the buses were running. I was getting close to the street at 9:10am. 9:10... more than half way through the time frame that I had to complete the trip. I knew I wasn't going to make it back on time if I kept going, so I had to turn around so I can make it back on time and check out of the hostel.

So I left the hostel at 10am, and my bus didn't leave until 1:55pm. That left me 4 hours to do something. There would be tons to do, but I had my huge backpack with me, so I hit up an internet cafe for a few hours and chatted with some friends back home.

The bus trip was nice, it was 5 hours from Dunedin to Queenstown. The scenery down here is amazing, I'd have to say even better than B.C. at its finest! I should be posting a few more pictures when I return to my grandparents in 5 days, so I'll show you what I'm talking about. There are tons of mountains, all of which have the top 25% covered in snow. It was a beautiful day today with just a few clouds and lots of sun making for some great pictures. They won't turn out as great as I hoped as we were traveling at 100 km/hr.

Queenstown is beautiful as well. I checked into the new hostel, dropped my bags off, and had some dinner. Queenstown is located alongside a large lake which makes for some great shots, and on the opposite side is the mountain with the gondola and another luge (go-cart type going downhill) which I'll be doing tomorrow. Weather is supposed to be great, so this one will be much better than in Rotorua where it was pissing rain.

Thats it for now, have a number of things planned for tomorrow as its my only full day here in Queenstown, and then I leave first thing in the morning the next day for Mount Cook which is at the base of a ski mountain where all I'll be doing is relaxing cause there's nothing to do! This was a strategic move on my part - I knew with the big cities I'd be keeping busy all day, so this gives me a day to lounge around, do some reading, and take some nice pictures.

Hope everyone is well, keep sending comments/messages, its great to hear from you all! (Dad and Chelsea have arrived at home safely)

Cheers from Queenstown!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.203s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.178s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb