Wellington to Picton


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Picton
February 26th 2009
Published: April 19th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Life BoatLife BoatLife Boat

Fortunately we didn't have to use it.
February 26, 2009

"Sail away, sail away, we will cross the mighty ocean"... into Picton Bay Randy Newman

I have a mid morning ferry to the South Island so I’m up coffeed and waiting in line around 9:00. Another first,(the ride) this ferry is nearly as big as the cruise ship I was on several years. Key here is not to have the same experience, i.e. sea sickness. I followed the usual advise, the sea was calm and all went well. I arrived in Picton around 2:00. A small town, I just followed my instinct from the Google map I had viewed and drive directly to Ron and Paula’s, a very cool little flat immediately on the water. Story is it belongs to a doctor friend that doesn’t live here & when it became available they decided they couldn’t pass it up. Ron Laughlin is the guy I met on line who has written the New Zealand Travel Guide and now earns a living as a freelance writer/photographer and from commissions booking vans etc. for travelers. I could take several pages telling you all I learned about Ron and Paula so let’s just leave it at this -
Your reporterYour reporterYour reporter

I'm smiling so that means I didn't get sea sick!
If you were a lot of the guys Jimmy Buffett sings about you would be Ron. He actually lived in Key West 15 or so years running bars and restaurants. Had a sail boat that sailed the gulf islands and that is only a small peek at his life. Like the guy in one of Jimmy’s songs he “earned enough money to buy Miami but I pissed it away so fast…” I had told Ron that I wanted to do something special to note Matt’s passing and boy did that happen. Ron and Paula had arranged an evening cruse/ picnic with their friend Marty and we all went out on Marlborough Sound to celebrate Matt. Marty, and old time fisherman wrote a Maouri Sailors Prayer which he recited as I spread Matt’s ashes and then to close the ceremony I washed my hands in a bowl and poured the water into the sea as a symbol of fair passage. Sail on Matt. (are you crying? I am/did) In my honor Ron had smoked some ribs and we had fresh corn and tomatoes from their garden. After this along with a couple of bottles of Kim Crawford Pinot Noir we headed back to Picton for a night cap, actually a flat white and lemon tart. To bed and to sleep. A most wonderful day!



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

 Marty Bids Matt fair sailing Marty Bids Matt fair sailing
Marty Bids Matt fair sailing

I was touched beyond words
Ron & PaulaRon & Paula
Ron & Paula

Good on the both of you!
MartyMarty
Marty

Truly one of a kind with a heart of gold


Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0484s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb