Cleaning Toilets is Fun...


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Picton
June 10th 2007
Published: June 10th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Traveling is expensive. On top of all the calculated costs like food, accommodation, and transportation, there's a bunch of hidden costs like buying a car and a towel (the latter I promptly lost in the very next hostel). The costs amount to a steady, troubling decline in my bank balance; which is fine so long as I keep putting things on my credit card!

In order to cut back on my expenses, I've spent the last week cleaning toilets in the small seaside town of Picton. The hostel was short on staff, so I stayed there for free on the condition that I would clean the washrooms in the morning...not pleasant but it only takes about an hour. I agreed that I would stay for at least a week, and longer if I liked Picton.

The only thing I will mention about the actual cleaning experience is: Respect the cleaning staff! I found that people were really friendly when I was just chilling in the hostel, but the same people would pretend I wasn't there if I was cleaning. One night I went out to the pub with an English and Dutch guy from the hostel.
Cruising around PictonCruising around PictonCruising around Picton

I tried to rent a motorcycle...but I guess I need a special license for that. So, I settled for a scooter instead. Awesome fun, and I can't get into too much trouble with 50cc.
It was the English guy's last night on the South Island and wanted a night to remember. He kept suggesting that we "get so drunk we spew everywhere". In general, that's not the type of night I enjoy remembering, especially when I'm the one who has to clean it up the next morning! And, even though they knew I was cleaning at the hostel, they left all their beer cans lying around. It's contradictory that people can be so congenial in public and inconsiderate if no one is watching. I'm not really sure what to make of enigmatic people who seem to have these split personalities.

I'm glad I only agreed to stay for one week, but despite the toilets, it was actually an amazingly week! The town was so peaceful, I think I would have stayed longer, however, the other cleaner and I didn't get along suberbly. I'm generally pretty easy-going, but we just had too many contradictory opinions. I won't bore you with the drama or by describing the entire week's transgressions. Instead I'll present the highlights of Picton in pictures! Just read the captions, and you'll know what a week in Picton is like!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Looking For MusselsLooking For Mussels
Looking For Mussels

I went walking along the beach because supposedly mussels cling to the rocks...maybe they do, but I couldn't find any to eat.
FishingFishing
Fishing

I couldn't find any mussels, so I went fishing with some guys instead. I actually caught some fish (blue cod and pickrel)!
Captain Ian!Captain Ian!
Captain Ian!

Captain Ian gutted the fish for me...I was too slow, he did it in about 30 seconds, and it took me a good 20 minutes to figure out what I was doing!
Mmm...fresh fishMmm...fresh fish
Mmm...fresh fish

I caught enought fish to eat dinner for the next five nights! I wish Travis was here to help me think up some divine recipes.


Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0482s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb