Queenstown


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Otago » Queenstown
April 5th 2009
Published: April 10th 2009
Edit Blog Post

It has taken coming to Queenstown to make me realise that not only am I now old, but a total loser. The only reason we had come here was because as we are on a time limit and wanted to get to Milford Sound, Queenstown is the most easily accessible place to get there. We had booked a day trip down to Milford sound and had a couple of days to kill.
I had been told by people how touristy it was and its not too bad as its still a really small town. The views are stunning as it is set on a lake with mountains all around which on the last day had snow on the top.

The only problem was the constant pressure from advertising to do something "crazy" like bungy jumping/skydiving/whitewater rafting/whitewater bodyboarding?!. The town is also incredibly young and full of eighteen year olds getting hammered. All of which added to me feeling very old and boring. Dont get me wrong, if you are 18-20 you will have an amazing time and I'm sure that if I had come here at that age and wasnt such a loser I would have been getting drunk with everyone else and throwing myself out of planes.

We decided to settle on a walk up to the top of the hill that overlooks the town and having a go on the luge which was lots of fun. You can get the gondola (cable car) up to the top where there is a viewing platform but we decided to get some exercise and walk up. It was only a 45 minute walk but all straight up. The views from the top were all worth it though.

I had planned to suggest doing the paragliding when we got to the top but it was shut, I assume to do with the weather even though it was quite a nice day. Instead we settled for the luge which is a track of twists and turns which you go down on a type of plastic toboggan with brakes. This was loads of fun and I cackled like a witch the whole way down.

The rest of our time spent in the town it rained constantly and was very cold so the only thing for it was to go to the pub.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



Tot: 0.12s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0688s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb