A perfect Saturday


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Otago » Dunedin
February 11th 2006
Published: February 15th 2006
Edit Blog Post

When I tested my last participants I got to know this interesting guy from India, Anshul. He had just come to NZ a week ago, so I thought I might as well invite him to come along to a Cricket game on Saturday.

- Yes, I confess, at that time I was halfways familiar with the Cricket rules, but that was it. I didn't know, that Cricket is actually a big sport in India... :-) So when he asked me what kind of game it was I tried to explain it to him: "You know the game where the players wear all white..." ooops. I think he wanted to know who is playing and which form of the game it was. Here you go girl, just embarrass yourself! -

But him knowing a ton about Cricket came in pretty handy since he was able to tell me all those different things about Cricket... I quite enjoyed watching the game...
Why? Well first of all it didn't last long (my friend Mike played and his team lost... poor guy. But he got a couple good balls...) and second of all: We talked the whole way through... :-)

After the
Running up huge sand dunesRunning up huge sand dunesRunning up huge sand dunes

I couldn't play this time, because I had an injury from surfing so I couldn't walk too well. Our surf instructors keep telling us that surfing is sooo safe. Yea right...
game Mike, Anshul and I went to Sandfly Beach to watch the Penguins. We actually got to see one!

Here are a couple of pictures of our trip to the beach.

So this is a short way of saying hi to Anshul's family and fiancée back home! Hope you enjoy the pics!


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

They made it!They made it!
They made it!

A fun thing to do at Sandfly Beach is to role down the big dunes. I took some videos, can't show them here though... Anshul found sand everywhere after he came home from our trip... Opening up the wallet in the supermarket... Hair... Pockets... Get used to it, this is NZ! ;-)
Can you find the sealCan you find the seal
Can you find the seal

You have to be pretty careful when walking along Sandfly Beach... If you don't pay attention you might mistake a seal or a sealion as a piece of wood or dried seawheat... This is not very healthy because those things tend to get a "little" unfriendly. (Did you know, that you can't run as fast on sand as on streets? When one of those things is following you, you get aware of this fact, believe me!)
The waves were gorgeous that dayThe waves were gorgeous that day
The waves were gorgeous that day

I will miss the sea soooo much, I am already heartbroken... It is just the most wonderful sight and sound in the world. And such a great variety, each day is totaly different...
And another touri shotAnd another touri shot
And another touri shot

Man, NZ guys should learn a lesson from this neat way of dressing! :-)


Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0268s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb