Lewis Pass!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Nelson Region
August 20th 2012
Published: August 26th 2012
Edit Blog Post

I headed off early this morning for the long journey back across the South Island to Wakefield nr Nelson, where I was staying for the night before getting the ferry the next day. This route pretty much took me back across the way I had come the day before but using the more northern route of the Lewis Pass!

Firstly I headed up the coast before cutting inland. The terrain on this route was amazingly very different to Arthurs Pass. The land was rolling green hills like a higher and steeper version of the Quantock Hills. The Lewis Pass cut through large pine forests before climbing up over the mountains and back down to the northern coastline where Nelson is situated.

On the way I saw loads of signs saying Stop Didymo and Frack Free Canterbury which I must look up! (I found out bout Didymo the next day and FFC is a campaign to stop hydraulic fracturing - google it). I also rather enjoyed a radio segment which discussed the International Mobile Phone Throwing contest, something that Josh may wanna get involved it next year!

The Prices have a lovely house that has a breathtaking view of Nelson to the North and the Southern Alps to the South, with rolling green hills filling in the area between. I had a lovely welcome from the two dogs, Prince and Kai, and an even lovlier dinner of Toad in the Hole.

We had a chilled out evening before getting an early night so I would be up to get the ferry.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0533s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb