Walking In The Rain


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Nelson Region » Nelson
April 24th 2006
Published: April 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

At 6:30 it was still dark and raining heavily. Not ideal weather for a 2 day sea kayaking expedition, but despite this I was hopeful that we could still go. We couldn't. The trip was cancelled.

Instead of sitting around drinking tea in the warm dry hostel I decided to go for a walk in the hills that pen Nelson in to the coast. First hill was the one known as the Centre Of New Zealand. Hopefully other people are suspicious to this too... that the 'centre' happens to be on the summit of a hill with great views. I doubt it would have such appeal if the centre of NZ was infact the location of a poorly maintained public toilet. But thats tourism for ya!

Having been up to the Centre I walked/ran through the Grampian hills dodging rain showers, downpours and torrents as I made my way through the lush and rugged landscape. Actually I didn't get too wet, and the walk was sheltered save for higher up on the hills. The sense of isolation was pretty good in spite of the fact that I was never more than a few kilometres from the town.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.224s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 20; qc: 84; dbt: 0.1243s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb