A damn good feed, sun - at last - and i need a shower!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Nelson Region » Nelson
January 14th 2006
Published: January 14th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Saturday. It got sunny, at last. Lovely on ferry trip from Picton to Wellington this afternoon - 3 hrs, though I was a bit bushed and just zombied my way through some of it... saw beach this morning at Nelson and went for walk along same said, but water about as cold as the Glaciers, so gave swim a miss.

Had one of my best meals last night - have not commented much on food as it has generally been okay, but nothing to rave of. Last night 'Spices' Malaysian restuarant in Nelson bumped up the standard a bit, a verrry tasty Vegetable Korma - and they did not charge extra for the rice - how outrageous! and it was already reasonably priced... as you can see, when one, i.e. 'me', travels, some of the smaller, less significant aspects of life can engender a wad of excitement, delirium, even.

okay, i do need a shower. carrying big pack and small pack a bit today - I smell.

before that, though, lovely driving through pine forests and in previous few days encountered rain forests... so, as Bill Lawry would say, "it is all happening!".

I shall add a few photos, including me getting some positive energy (tree hugging) in a national park the name of which i cannot recall, which i actually did remember at some point.

and then to dinner - somewhere - after shower and nice hotel near to airport who will wake me up and shuttle me there, possibly at the time young Finn O'Rourke is badgering mother Carolyn for a feed all the way back in suburban Melbourne...

within the next day or two I will do a final blog from the soon to be hit shores of eastern Oz, including a little thing about Queenstown, which some of you will know appeared in a dream i had 3-4 years ago and at the time had me thinking "I should go there"...

but for now, good night, I have enjoyed bloggging with you, hope you have enjoyed it also... it actually has kept me connected to 'home' and that has been important for me.

cheers, love

Bernard


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Sign to Wellington ferrySign to Wellington ferry
Sign to Wellington ferry

116 kms out and a reminder the south island is soon behind me
NZ natural speciesNZ natural species
NZ natural species

they are - bloody - everywhere! of course, one very legitimate way of getting around - the campervan - sometimes a slow moving species...
Tree hugTree hug
Tree hug

I did promise this in my last entry... and wearing your jacket, Vic. And i must thank you, Laura, so much, for indicating value of such item.


Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0606s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb