Gliding


Advertisement
Published: March 20th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Wednesday March 18, 2009 "Up in the air junior birdmen..." old camp song

Bright and early at the crack of nine I roll out of bed and walk over to the Southern Gliding office. There is actually a little camper park adjacent to the airstrip with clean well-kept facilities. They do it on an honor system so I just filled in the envelope, enclosed the money and dropped it in a box. I talk to Chris, the owner and Darren, my pilot, and even though it is a bit cloudy we can give it a go. Since I’m the only one there Darren gives me the detailed version of the preflight briefing. The safety parachute I strap on is one that is spring-loaded and can save you at altitudes as low a 1000 ft. The only thing is it deploys so quickly that you come out of it with two serious bruises on your shoulders. But I won’t be using it today. Right away I can tell this is going to be FUN! I get another bonus in that we are using one of their racing gliders so there is only a small single bubble canopy. Once in (a semi-reclining
Made it back!Made it back!Made it back!

Photos from the glider are really not that great.
position) my view is unencumbered as Darren is sitting behind me. The towline is hooked, the pull plane takes up the slack, we are off. The glider lifts so fast that we are actually off the ground well before the tow plane. Searching for some up drafts we are towed out to the nearby peaks. As it appears to me that we are on a collision course with the side of a hill Darren drops the towline and makes a nice right turn. We are soaring! I am loving it. We go over a small range and Darren points out all the surrounding sites including Mt. Cook, even though it is covered with clouds and rain. Sooner than I wanted the time is up and we are gliding in for a landing. I asked if doing this for tourists gets to be just another day at the office. He replied that it isn’t so much of a job as it is a lifestyle. I like that.
Clearing out of Omarama I head north for Twizel. Just before Twizel is the High Country Salmon farm. Since it is one of my favorite fish I am forced to stop and buy a smoked fillet. Since I've not eaten much today I stop in Twizel for a late lunch at Poppies Café. I haven’t endorsed many places, however, this is a nice place with good food. Just out of Twizel is the turn off for Mt. Cook. It starts to really rain. From here I decide to drive all the way to the Lodge and the Hillary (not Clinton) exhibit. Funny site - Purusing in the gift store and spot a guy that is so cheap that he is photographing the postcards! This is the truth. Back down the road to Glentanner Park, my home for the next day and half. Wouldn’t you know it, the minute I arrive the sky clears. After checking in I head back up the valley again to get a look at the Tasman Glacier. It’s down a grave road to a parking spot then a quick (huff & puff) walk up a hill to a viewing area. Completely unlike the west coast glaciers this one is covered with rocks and other debris. There is a large pool at it’s base with some pretty sizable chunks of blue ice floating in it. Enough sight seeing for one day.
Iced tea?Iced tea?Iced tea?

from the glacial pool
Back to the camp and a dinner of freshly smoked salmon.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.04s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0205s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb