trip to paradise and, unfortunately, back


Advertisement
Published: February 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

The remoteness and absolute tranquility of Endeavour Inlet, where I spent Wednesday night, seems like another age and world today. Right now I'm in rainy Paraparaumu waiting to get the bus to Napier - the morning one I wanted to take was full, so I have to wait till midday now. But I'll cast my mind back to Mahana Homestead....

Over an hours trip on the water taxi from Picton I was dropped off in the middle of nowhere on the jetty (well, they called it wharf) Mahana Homestead Lodge. My host John was already waiting for me (and the bags that walkers who walk the 70km Queen Charlotte Track have sent on to their next stop off) and took me round the corner of the beach to the place where I was going to spend the night - a gorgeous 1890s homestead right by the water's edge surrounded by a pretty garden and a lawn down to the beach. The lodge for guests is set above the main house and has great views over the sounds. The only noise round there are the Cicadas, which do get very noisy! After coming back into the house after a few hours outside my ears were ringing!! But all in all you couldn't get more peace and quiet - and the people there were the best so far. The hosts John and Anne were so welcoming and kind, it felt so cosy and warm. Actually "Mahana" is a Moari word for shelter, warmth, hospitaliti - so there you go...
Also the other guests were more talkative, I suppose it's the surroundings make people more sociable! in the evening we went to the glow worm grotto behind the house. The glow worms are a big thing in NZ...

I didn't do very much on Wednesday, as I was far too busy relaxing. I did, however, get almost all my cards done, which is a relief. I still need to get some more though. Apart from that, some "David Copperfield" (I haven't done much reading so far), and a short walk along the track I was just lazy. If I do come back to NZ I think I should actually walk that track, staying at these tucked away lodges every night after having earned it by walking there - and it's so convenient that the water taxis transport your luggage to the next lodge, so you just need to take your lunch with you. Wish they did that on the Pembrokeshire Coast Path!

Not only the location and hosts but also everything else at Mahana was best ever - comfortable bed, the first handheld shower I've seen so far in NZ. I definitely didn't want to leave.

Yesterday morning I went for a dip in the water (cristal clear and a bit refreshing) before heading to the "wharf" for my water taxi to collect me and take me back to the real world :-(

The ferry crossing this time was perfect, as we had a sunny day (lots of sunscreen), though it's rough in the best of times that strait

Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.051s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb