Lake Tekapo


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Lake Tekapo
February 7th 2010
Published: February 9th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hi!
I am now in Lake Tekapo having travelled from the West Coast down towards the southern tip of the Island and back towards the East Coast. I have stayed at the most beautiful lakes, each very different to all spectacular, although I am not sure I have done them justice in my photographs, varying in colour from sparkling blue to an unusual aqua marine green. It is hard to explain just how stunning this country is, as I have said before its like all the best bits of the UK but times by 10 and then even bigger and more dramatic. I need to watch the Lord of the Rings again when I get home!!
The weather has been fantastic, warm and sunny without being humid. I have had a chill out time the last couple of weeks, staying for three or four days at the different towns, with lazy days and a few hikes thrown in. A few of us hiked up to the summit of Mount John at Lake Tekapo where there is a world famous Astral Observatory, it was a bit of a struggle in the 30degree heat! The sky here is totally clear because it is so far from any major town that that the stars are really bright, everyone lies by the lake when it gets dark for some star gazing!! I didnt realise that the constellations are the other way around in the Southern hemisphere! Obvious I suppose.
I am coming to the end of my time in New Zealand, all of you who told me how I would enjoy it were so right, I have had one big adventure, I am not going to deny that it has been a challenge at times and I have been a wee bit homesick and missed everyone.... but overall it has been a fantastic experience, one, I hope I can keep with me for years to come. I have met loads of interesting people, made some good, hopefully life long friends, had some hilarious moments, such as, the night I shared a room with an Argentinian guy (ask me in person!)
Anyway enough of the sentimentality and onwards to Christchurch for a couple of days before I go to Thailand and meeting up with Pauline and Elaine for some pampering! I am looking forward to not having to share my room with strangers!!
Miss you all
Suexx


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.284s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0483s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb