Are we home already?


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Lake Tekapo
November 29th 2008
Published: November 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

After an all-but-relaxing Bali cruise (more on that when I'm at a less expensive terminal), we arrived in New Zealand on Thanksgiving Day. We actually managed to find the one restaurant in Christchurch that offered a special Thanksgiving turkey dinner. Unfortunately, it was the largest All Blacks rugby pub in the country, so the holiday ambiance was pretty weak!

We rented a car and spent yesterday and today driving on harrowing, twisting roads on the South Island. I had always pictured New Zealand as a green flatland covered in merry sheep, so I was a bit shocked by the enormous volcanic passes we had to cross. Steve just laughed at me (probably because I'm the only person in the free world who hasn't seen any of the LOTR movies).

I'm about to lose access (32 seconds left), so I'm signing off. I promise to write more soon!

Advertisement



29th November 2008

New Zealand
Hi Kelly, Don't feel bad. I've see ALL of the LOTR movies and I still thought New Zealand was a hilly sheepscape too. Are you at the point yet when you'll be glad to be home? I usually get that on my third week... Love, Dawn

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0532s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb