Day 46: A Slow and Sleepy Day


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Kaikoura
January 14th 2011
Published: January 14th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Day 46: A Slow and Sleepy Day

Dusky Lodge isn't bad. Their pool is very clean, and it's even landscaped; they've made an effort with rocks and a couple of trees. The hot tub has no jets, but it is heated to 102 F, which is very pleasant after a swim.

So far I have had no trouble, here in the private-room wing, with the drunken guests complained of in the BBH reviews. It's been nice and quiet after 10 p.m..

The only major problem has been the heat, or rather the lack of it. Dusky's heaters are on a timer, which comes on for around seven hours a day. And, at the moment, the timers are out of whack because no one has changed them to allow for daylight time.
So they come on from 7:15 to 10:15 in the evening, and from 7 to 11 in the morning. By 3:30 a.m., the temperature in my room is down to that of the air outside, which has been in the low 50's.

That's not cold enough to do more than aggravate my lung problems a bit -- it won't send me to the hospital -- but it's too cold for me to sleep. I've had to adopt an extreme early-to-bed, early-to-rise scheme; going to bed as soon after 7 as possible, while the heater is on.

The only incident of note today was that I failed to notice that I had put my yoghurt on a "free food" shelf. Naturally it was not there when I looked for it later. I am disappointed, but it wasn't as bad as it might have been, as I hadn't much cared for the flavor. Still, I had all the work of carrying it back from the grocery store, for nothing.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.193s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0797s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb